On a grand adventure!

July 22, 2008 at 1:43 pm | Posted in Random babble | 1 Comment

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it here yet, but I’m participating in the Ravelympics this year. It’s the same general idea as the Knitting Olympics, really. Cast on at the start of the summer Olympic games, knit, and finish before the torch goes out 17 days later.

What am I knitting for it? This. Top Secret, from Knitty. For my roommate. I got a bunch of bulky wool from her mother, something that was originally intended to be a sweater for said roommate’s father, but her mother admitted she probably never would finish it and thus gave the yarn to me. I have three different colours of it: black, grey, and white. I have the most black, so the background will be that colour, and I’ll use the grey and the white to do a few Fair Isle motifs on it, to give it a splash of patterning.

A simple pattern, according to what Knitty says, but I’ve never knit a sweater before, nor done much colourwork, so this definitely falls under the category of “something that’s a challenge to knit in 17 days.” I’m sure I can do it, if I put my mind to it, though.

For the curious, I’ll be away from the blog for four days or so at the end of July/beginning of August. I’m going away on vacation! To Dartmouth, Nova Scotia! (Not exactly Paris, but heck, I’ll take what I can get.) I can get hotels cheaply with my work discount, and there are more than enough things there to keep us busy for the few days that we’ll be there. I’m looking forward to it. I expect to return with plenty of pictures, and some new souvenir yarn, because yes, there is a yarn shop there and yes, I will drag my roommate to it. When I promised I wouldn’t spend too long there, she countered with, “Yes, but for you, ‘not long’ might be two hours!”

She knows me too well!

And thus ends this pictureless post!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Ooh, Tangled Skeins! You lucky thing, you! Dartmouth is also very close to the Loop, since that’s on Barrington… farther away from LK Yarns, but whatevs. I hope you have an awesome time. Yes, I’ve been reading your blog entries lately, but for some reason, my brain ran out of blog-commenting words recently. I’ve been reading everybody’s, but commenting on nobody’s. Sowwy. Oh, and your ankle sock is very purty.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

