Newness in a time of fading.

October 20, 2008 at 3:48 pm | Posted in lace, scarves, WIPs | 3 Comments

So much in my life has been new lately. A few new projects, some new friends, a new job. Yup, an entirely new job, one that’s actually different than the last new job I mentioned here. The other company was just starting to feel more uncomfortable to me, and the job too restrictive, so I took a look around and applied at the place I’m now working. I guess saying, “They hired me,” is rather redundant at this point.

I’m much happier in this new job. For starters, it’s still a call centre but it doesn’t feel like it, since the location is in two revamped studio apartments uptown. It’s still got a nice home-like feel. They’re relaxed on policies, too, and don’t mind you wandering around in slippers, and they actively encourage crafts during slow times (if there’s no other work to do, of course) because a good percentage of them employees (all 40 of them) are cross-stitchers. I feel so good about working there that sometimes it hardly feels like a job at all.

Plus the view from the western windows at sunset is really something to behold!

As for what I’ve got on the needles… Well, I’m still slogging away at those Kertzer basic socks. I go through cycles with those. Some days I’ll knit on them obsessively, other days I won’t touch them. The deadline’s looming, though, so I’d better get a move on.

I also have the delightful One Row Lace Scarf on the needles, which I’m knitting whenever I’m watching something on my computer. It’s simple, but pretty, and I’m enjoying knitting it even if one of my needles is crooked at the tip. (No idea how that happened…)

And I still need to block that dang feather and fan wrap I did ages ago. I’m not counting it as finished until it’s blocked. Well, I have tomorrow off work, and I plan to do some baking in the kitchen for most of the day, so maybe I’ll block it then, where I can keep an eye on it and shoo the cats off it if I have to.

Jakob protests that he’s too sleepy to walk on my knitting right now anyway.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Congratulations on the new job! It sounds like a real winner!

  2. Jakob and Laptop are twins!

    Nice view from your working window!

  3. Congratulations! I am slightly jealous that you are surrounded by cross stitchers at work! (I do have knitting co-workers, of course, but not as many.) And the view is lovely. I actually have an amazing view at work, too… but we sit with our backs to it, which is actually good, because otherwise we would never get any work done. Hey, we can always turn around for a few seconds.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

