I’m such a lying liar.

May 2, 2009 at 6:23 pm | Posted in Argosy, Clapotis, scarves, shawls, WIPs | 5 Comments

I promise I’ll be back and updating more, and then I just don’t. Well, part of that was because my camera went AWOL for a while, and it took me some time to find it again. More was from lingering stress.

But the camera has been found and the stress is slowly lifting, partially because I’m now on stress leave. Until halfway through July.

Yeah, after explaining my situation to the doctor, he decided that 12 weeks would be a good start to the time I’ll have off work, so I now find myself with a lot of free time on my hands.

So aside from being able to destress, this also means I have a lot more time to knit. Which I’ve been doing. I’ll get you all up to speed on what I’ve been doing.

I finished knitting Argosy, which only took up about half of the ball of sock yarn that I was using for it. Not too shabby, really, in terms of yardage. Still needs to be blocked, though.

That and the feather-and-fan stole I finished knitting last year. But now that I’m on leave, I’ll have the time to block them both and to make sure that the cats don’t muck it up.

But I can’t find where I put the scarf at the moment, so you’ll have to wait until I do and then block it to see pictures. Don’t worry, you’re not missing too much. :p

Slowly inching my way through my Clapotis. I love the colours of the Noro Kureyon Sock that I’m using, though I can’t imagine who’d use this stuff for socks. Too rough, and the thick-and-thin texture I don’t think would feel too nice on the feet.

But the colours are pretty, and I think they look good for a Clapotis. And happily, all that I’ve knit so far is less than one ball of the stuff, so I’m certainly getting my money’s worth.

I’ve been mentally working on a few patterns lately too, especially after picking up knitting journal with graph paper and a copy of Mary Walker Phillips’s Creative Knitting: A New Art Form. Definitely an inspirational book when it comes to pattern creation and experimentation. So far two potential scarf ideas have come out of it, which I’m going to start working on… When I can tear myself away from the Clapotis, that is. It’s a simple and fun pattern that’s easy to do while watching TV or reading, so I’ve been working on it a fair bit.

I’ve abandonned the Razzle Dazzle hat, and really do need to rip back that mangled part of Butterfly Fields so that I move forward and wirte up the pattern and release it for other people to knit if they so desire. There’s something really satisfying in knowing that I’ve designed patterns that other people end up using.

Kitties think so too. Or rather, Nick thinks it’s satisfying to sleep with his head on Jakob’s butt.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I would go nuts if I don’t have my camera ready. I tend to get the photos now or never.

    Your clapotis looks great. I like the colors and it’ll be warm for winter. I’ve used my clapotis several times for winter. It’s worth knitting it.

  2. Great to see you back to blogging ! Looking forward to seeing more of your knits . Yes , the Noro sock yarn is rough . They say once washed it softens up a bit . The colors are gorgeous !

  3. Your Clapotis is gorgeous – love the stripes! I’m knitting a Clapotis, too. Mine is green, and I love dropping those stitches. :)

  4. Glad to see that you’re around and you have some time to knit!

  5. Woah! Im really enjoying the template/theme of this site. Its simple, yet effective. A lot of times its very difficult to get that perfect balance between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say youve done a very good job with this. In addition, the blog loads very fast for me on Internet explorer. Outstanding Blog!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

