So bad at keeping this updated.

July 23, 2009 at 1:23 pm | Posted in Random babble | 1 Comment

I’ll make occasional comebacks here, say I’ll post more, and then never do. Mostly this is because I don’t really have much to say. I’m still knitting, but it just doesn’t seem that important to blog about it. I’ll update the project info on Ravelry and be done with it.

Bad blogger. No biscuit.

I will say, though, that I’ve been experiencing a sort of mental shift when it comes to knitting lately. In a way, I’ve been getting a little bored with it. Not bored with the act itself, because I still love the feel of yarn and needles, and I love seeing what I can do with them. But what I have been doing has ceased to be challenging or interesting to me, at least as much as it used to.

That isn’t to say that I’ve mastered every technique. Far from it! But I’ve been feeling that maybe I ought to try going in a different direction with my fibre arts for a while.

Mostly, I’ve been wanting to try more artistic things. Wall hangings. Coming up with new stitch patterns. Trying to create entire scenes, background and all, in varying degrees of transparancy and texture. This sort of thing seems much more interesting to me than churning out another scarf, another hat, a pair of socks.

Don’t get me wrong. I still enjoy doing all those things. But the art bug has really hit me lately, and I’m trying to put less of my energy into making another thing I may or may not wear, and instead put that energy into making something that might look awesome on my wall.

So now you know where I’ve been, and what I’ve been doing. I will return to the blogging world one of these days, probably with about a zillion projects to show. But until then, updates here will likely be sporadic, more text than images, and possibly containing more persona babble that’s related to whatever I’m working on but may or may not actually be of interest to anyone else.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Yay for art! And don’t forget — you’re not limited to art or wearable items. Wearable art is awesome, too!

    Most of my blog posts start with me giving stupid excuses for why I haven’t blogged. Although my most recent post actually is kind of awesome.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

