Time marches on.

September 10, 2009 at 6:18 pm | Posted in lace, pattern design, Random babble, stash, WIPs | 1 Comment

So much has changed since the last time I updated. For one thing, I’m unemployed now. Yup, the company shut down. With no notice. And is refusing to pay us for hours that we worked.

Needless to say, a complaint has been filed with the Labour Board by at least 3 employees, myself included, and we’re mad as hell about it. And really, who can blame us?

So now I spend my days desperately hunting for jobs. You know, in between fibres arts projects.

My old laptop decided it didn’t want to live anymore, so now I have a new one. Well, semi-new. Second-hand, but it’s better than the old one and is working just fine.

I performed on stage last month for the first time in nearly a decade. It was awesome! Lots of fun, and something I will definitely be doing again next year, so long as the theatre company runs the event again.

Summer passed rather wetly, and I can’t believe September’s here already. The weather, however, seems to think that it overslept and now it’s really October or November, because temperatures have been dipping only a few degrees above the freezing mark since mid-August, and we had a frost warning last night.

And joy of joys, my mojo is back! It’s been helped along by a nice package in the mail the other day, from Kristen. She sent me a metric buttload of old swatches, which thrilled me right to death!

My roommate and I went through them all yesterday afternoon, and some of the swatches have whispered to me their desired FO-form. So far I’ve got a hat in mind (really, the swatch itself is big enough for the hat, and all I need to do is seam the top), as well as a pair of wristlets. I suspect a stranded pouch or two may be in future, as well as plenty of yarn to practice tablet weaving with! (It’s not knitting, but I get to fondle yarn, so it gets a mention here.)

I do have a cowl on the needles right now, too.

You can’t tell from the picture, but it’s actually a forest green, not black.

It’s not much to look at right now, but it’s growing. I’ll end up writing up a pattern for it when it’s finished, no doubt. A free pattern, since it’s simple enough to do.

And I’ve also got plans for a pair of knit (and possibly felted) bracers, much like the ones shown here.

Little by little I’m also knitting some leprosy bandages to send off to charity, though these usually get worked on when I’m watched a movie or TV shows that has subtitles. Garter stitch can be done without looking at the stitches.

Yup, plenty of mojo to last me a good long while, if it sticks around!

Jakob seems indifferent to my happiness. Really, though, he’s just worn out from cheering me on.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. How nice to see you blogging again ! I am so sorry to hear that you lost your job so suddenly ! And not to recieve yourpay to boot I think is shocking . Hopefully the DOL can do someting . Fingers are crossed you will get a job soon ! Keep us posted !
    Happy knitting !
    Kim O


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

