August 11, 2006 at 4:56 am | Posted in pattern design | 1 Comment

Is it overly optimistic to try my hand at designing lace patterns at this stage of the game? See, I was originally going to knit a Branching Out scarf for a friend for Christmas, but tonight, I had a brainstorm. She likes bunnies. Why don’t I try to come up with a lace pattern that has bunnies in it? That doesn’t sound too difficult, really. It’s just a simple matter of figuring out how many stitches I need, I where to place the increases and decreases. Not too difficult at all.

Then I remember that I still hadn’t come up with a good present for said friend’s girlfriend. She goes by a name that mean ‘red dragonfly’, so there’s the colour taken care of, at least. Now all I need to do is figure out how I can make a dragonfly pattern in lace. That one . . . will be much more difficult than the bunnies, I imagine.

I mentioned this plan to my roommate, who instantly thought of a dragonfly shawl. After all, if I can make the simple pattern for a scarf, then adapting it for a repeated shawl pattern wouldn’t be difficult, would it? Perhaps with a border of flowers? Yeah, that won’t be too hard, so long as I can get the scarf first. Not to mention, if I can make a pattern like that, I could probably even sell it!

So . . . too optimistic? Or do I stand a chance? Only one way to find out, I guess. Now where’s my graph paper?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

