I give up.

August 15, 2006 at 6:49 pm | Posted in pattern design | Leave a comment

I can’t design lace to save my life. If somebody had a gun to my head and told me that I had twenty minutes to design a lace pattern with a theme, I’d be screwed, because I just simply can’t. Seriously.

Well, maybe I can, given enough time and patience. I have plenty of time, if I work at it, but not enough patience, especially when I also have umteen million other things to do during the course of a day!

My solution. No rabbit head lace scarf. Instead, a scarf of many colours, featuring frolicking bunnies in a field of grass and flowers. Now this I know I can do! It’ll all be done in stockingette, so the stitches are no problem. The only fiddly bit will be the colours.

The pattern will be sideways, so that it goes along the legnth of the scarf rather than the width. Thus to all appearances, I’ll be knitting it sideways. However, given that my needles are only so long, I think this is the best way to go about it. Otherwise, I’d need insanely long circulars, or the rabbits would be frolicking in fields that grow out of another rabbits’ head.

I think I’ll only need four colours. Five at most. That won’t be a problem. If I use the merino/angora yarn and dye it in batches, it’ll be cheaper, and won’t require me to go buy tons of yarn in various colours and fibres and thicknesses, and then attempt to make them all fit together somehow.

I’m not sure if I can do the dragonfly lace or not. I’ll give it a try (since if I do a mirror image, it’ll be easier than I’d originally planned), but if not, I’m sure I can design a sideways image of dragonflies flitting over a bright blue pond.

I’ve never done anything like this before. I mean, making stripes is one thing, but having various shapes and multiple colours in a single row is something completely new to me. Not that I’m not up to the challenge! On the contrary; I think it’ll be quite fun!

Now, on to the designing!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

