On crochet – a non-crocheters perspective.

October 7, 2006 at 7:43 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’m at work, happily knitting away on the WiaH stole, and the person beside me pulls out her crochet and the tiniest crochet hook I’ve ever seen, and starts making what she says will eventually be a bedspread. “It’s easy,” she says, pointing at the pattern which, to my eyes, could be written in a completely different language.

 I suppose it is, in a sense. I can figure out knitting code, the interesting play of ‘k’ and ‘p’ and ‘yo’, ‘sl’ and ‘k1f&b’, and all those other nifty little things. But then those crocheters start talking about “half double stitches” (which to my mind would equal a single stitch, but I just know that can’t be right, or else there wouldn’t be a fancy name for it), and I just go blank. Saying that crocheting a bedspread is easy means nothing to the person who has been known to interpret complex yarnwork instructions as, “Wrap the yarn around your fingers and go fuck yourself.”

One of these days, I’m sure I’ll learn to crochet. I’m sure I can create lots of intricate delicate pieces of fabric with one length of yarn and a hooky needle. Until that day comes, though, I think I’m just going to remain happily oblivious to the crocheters around me (and put a damper on my jealousy that they can do something that I can’t), and go on with my two-needle work.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

