Yarn woes.

November 6, 2006 at 7:57 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

You see,my ex-girlfriend is getting married next year, and I’ve decided that come hell or high water, I will be there. I’ve also decided that I’d like to make her a shawl. Specifically, The Snowdrop Shawl, designed by Yarn Harlot. It’s not that the pattern’s too complicated. It’s not that I don’t think I’ll have enough time to knit it. It’s that the pattern calls for laceweight yarn, and I can’t for the life of me find enough white laceweight yarn for prices that won’t require me to live in a cardboard box from now until the day of the wedding. I checked all through Cricket Cove. The closest they have to what I’d like is a DK yarn. Too thick, unless I want to make the shawl really really big, or work fiddly math equations to make it all make sense.

Neither of those options are really appealing, to be honest.

I don’t really want to make this from recycled yarn, to be honest. I’d rather have it all be brand new, something very pretty, warming, and an expression of the fact that even though she’s marrying somebody else, I still love her, want to take care of her, and she’ll always have a place in my heart. (Besides, she’ll be living in Sweden. I imagine it gets just as cold there are it does here, where a shawl has come in handy on many occasions!)

I could, with a little bit of convincing my roommate to use her credit card, get some white laceweight from KnitPicks, so that’s definitely an option, if all else fails. But still . . . I was hoping for something like angora blend, instead of 100% wool. Especially when ordering it online, I can’t tell how soft it is.

Thankfully, I made a backup plan. If I can’t find the right yarn for the Snowdrop Shawl, then perhaps Elann‘s Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. The yarn required for it is just a little bit finer than the good yarn I found today at Cricket Cove, but I’m sure I can make it work nonetheless. Both shawls are beautiful, and I can only hope she’d think the same.

After typing all this up, I’m leaning towards Twinkle Twinkle, honestly, so more likely than not I’ll end up knitting that one. The yarn is only $10 a ball, too, and it feels nice (though for the life of me I can’t remember what the fibre content was). I’ll only need about 10 balls, I think, to make the shawl.

Ooh, now I’m all excited. I can knit it little by little, since taking $10 a paycheque isn’t going to hurt me any, and still have it done in plenty of time for the wedding.

And once again,. I’ve rambled too long about knitting when I should actually go and be knitting.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

