Post Christmas Post!

December 26, 2006 at 4:29 pm | Posted in Random babble, WIPs | 1 Comment

For starters, the Faggiest Necktie Ever was well-received, for which I’m quite thankful.

This is the recipient, wearing it loudly and proudly. :D

For the record, I did get yarn for Christmas. It was some Red heart Light & Lofty, in the Blueberry colourway. 3 balls. I have no idea what I’m going to do with them, but I’m sure I’ll think of something. Maybe a fluffy lap blanket?

It’s getting close to the end of the year now, and I still do have some projects on the needles. These will, of course, be finished during 2007, since I don’t want to have a project languishing for over a year. That would just be cruel and unusual punishment for the yarn that yearns to become something pretty! (Can you tell I thought about that way too much?) Fortunately, I only have a few projects on the go right now.

The Branching Out scarf, and the 2×2 ribbed scarf. Branching Out hasn’t been touched, I think, since that picture was taken, but the ribbed scarf is about 10 times as long now, and I’ve almost used up the first ball of yarn that I’ve set aside for it. The third ball that I have of that yarn is going to be turned into a matching hat, the first hat I’ll have ever knit!

The Prairie Shawl, which I don’t have a picture of because it’s white, and dull to look at, is about halfway finished.

I also have a drawer full of small garter-stitch squares that will eventually be turned into a blanket. This will take a good long while to do, since I have about 7 balls left that I need to knit up into those little squares, and then it all has to be sewn together, so I expect that project to not be finished for a while yet.

I also experimented with icords that last, and have decided that an icord circular rug made from a ball of useless cheap yarn will keep me busy for a while too.

I have quite a few projects that I’m looking forward to making in the new year, too. My first sweater will no doubt be knit during this time, since I have the wool and needles all ready, and now just need a pattern to follow so that I don’t chicken out and/or make an incredible amount of mistakes. There are plenty of lace patterns I want to try out, and a few complex designs for stoles that are forming in my head, and have been forming for a while now. I want to knit my first pair of sicks during this coming year, too. I get the feeling that if socks are as addictive as everyone else says they are, I might end up knitting more than just one pair!

I also have some afghan patterns to knit up, too. Can’t have too few blankets, after all!

This year ought to be a good one for knitting. I’m motivated, I have plenty of yarn to keep me going through the Knit From Your Stash challenge, and I have plenty of projects already underway to prevent me from becoming bored too quickly.

This will likely be my last post here before the new year, too. This year in knitting . . . wasn’t the most productive one, but I did learn quite a bit, and got more ambitious with my projects. I discovered a LYS that actually sells good-quality yarn, and patterns, and needles, and I probably spend far too much money there, but oh, it’s worth it! There are many things about knitting that I’m no longer nervous about trying, simply because I went ahead and tried them.

I expect good things in the year to come, an I look forward to reading everyone else’s babbling knitblogs about how much fun their years of yarn are.

And so, with that in mind, I wish you all a Merry late Christmas, and a Happy New Year. May all your days be bright!

Jakob-kitty says, “Their days can be bright just so long as I can keep sleeping in my new comfy corner.”

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] blocked. I’m only hoping I can find enough space to properly block it. I managed to block the Faggiest Necktie on my bedroom floor, but that’s definitely not going to work. Not nearly enough room in there […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

