I think I have a problem.

January 3, 2007 at 1:31 am | Posted in Knit From Your Stash 2007, stash | Leave a comment

I went through the apartment today and gathered up all the yarn that I could find, and moved it into my bedroom. Please note that I did say, “All the yarn I could find.” I’m sure what I brought in here wasn’t the whole lot. I’m fairly certain that I have a few more balls or hanks or unravelled sweaters lying around somewhere that I didn’t manage to find.

My roommate saw it tonight, taking up a very large corner in my room.  In boxes, totes, and plastic bags. She’s right when she said that if we cleared everything out of our fridge and filled it with yarn instead, it wouldn’t hold my entire stash.

I’m not sure if this constitutes an actual problem or not, though, since I’m going to be knitting up as sizable portion of it this year. And having it all in one place will remind me that no, I do not actually need new yarn, no matter how badly I want to use my “fall off the wagon” card.

I have plenty of cheap acrylics, mostly acquired because they were either in a grab bag with nicer yarn I wanted, or because they were given to me by people trying to get rid of their yarn. I think that anything I can’t really think of a purpose for will be knit into critter blankets and given to the local Animal Rescue League. I’d love to give them money, since they need that more than they need animal blankets, but every little bit helps, I’ll bet, and I doubt they’ll refuse my offer. So that’ll pretty much take care of anything I can’t decide what to do with.

Now . . . to decide what to do with everything else. I think what I’ll do over the next few days is go through what I have, designate it to some project I’d like to do, start taking apart more of the sweaters, and just generally get more organised. Then I’ll have more direction, hopefully more space, and can recover some of my room again!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

