Roundup!

January 4, 2007 at 6:54 pm | Posted in Knit From Your Stash 2007, pattern design, Random babble, stash, WIPs | Leave a comment

WIPs big and small:

~ Branching Out scarf, 6 pattern repeats in, in recycled 75/25 wool/angora yarn, Kool-Aid dyed.
~ 2×2 ribbed scarf, in Lion Brand Wool Ease Chunky, Huckleberry colourway. Over halfway done.
~ Prairie Shawl, from Folk Shawls. Zeller’s brand acrylic yarn, kinda off-white colour. Over halfway done.
~ Patchwork blanket. Many many small squares in acrylic yarn. Not even close to being done, but the squares are portable, and mindless to knit.
~ Seed stitch scarf, black 100% baby alpaca yarn from Inca Gold. I’ve got about four inches knit so far.
~ Basic garter stitch scarf in purpley boucle yarn. I just want to knit this to get it done. No other purpose, really.
~ Icord rug, acrylic yarn in kind of a dark sandy colour. Started to see if I could actually do an icord, and it just sort of went from there.
~ Trinity stitch stole, recycled wool yarn in a sandy colour. Need to find the last ball to complete this. Shame I wanted this done for Christmas. Maybe next Christmas . . .

That’s 8 projects on the go right now, and the only one that will really take a while to do is that damned blanket. I don’t have half the squares done for it, and even though they’re all just small garter stitch squares, I can only knit so fast, and can only work on so many projects at once. Once I get a few more projects done, though (probably the ribbed scarf, Branching Out, and the Prairie Shawl), I’ll get back to knitting those squares, most likely while at work. They’re small and portable, and that’s all I ask in a work project.

Future Projects, big and small, that I have the yarn for

~ Sampler afghan, pattern taken from a book of, well, afghan square patterns. Worsetd weight acrylic yarn.
~ Sweater. Undecided style and pattern, though probably Fair Isle. 100% wool. It’ll be my first sweater!
~ Hat, from Lion Brand Wool Ease Chunky, Huckleberry colourway. Complement to the ribbed scarf. It’ll be my first hat!
~ Pair of socks, simple pattern in numerous knitting books. 75/25 acrylic/wool sock yarn. It’ll be my first pair of socks! (Can you tell that I want 2007 to be a year of ‘firsts’?)
~ Scarf using the snowflake lace pattern featured here. Handmaiden Seasilk, blue and green.
~ Alien Illusion scarf from the Stitch’n’Bitch book. Red and black yarns, can’t remember the brand, acrylic, and really shiny and soft!
~ Red Dragonfly scarf, recycled 75/25 wool/angora yarn, Kool Aid dyed. Pattern is self-designed.
~ A felted tote in geometric patterns, 100% wool (fairly scratchy wool, too), Kool Aid dyed.
~ Felted clogs, 100% blue-grey merino wool.
~ Lap blanket, Red Heart Light & Lofty, Blueberry colourway. Because it’s the only thing besides scarves that I can think of to do with this stuff, and I really don’t need three blueberry-coloured scarves.

10 projects that I want to do and know I have the yarn for. Not too shabby, really. Again, mostly small things that can be portable, except for that sweater, but that’s not a problem. The sweater will likely end up as a Christmas gift, so it’ll be well worth taking the time and energy on.

Really, it looks like 2007 will be a year of firsts. First sweater, first hat, first pair of socks. Most knitters seem to attempt these things before they go all into things like lace knitting. Not me. I’m backwards. I got into lace knitting because I saw the fantastic work that Wendy does, and said, “Holy crap, I could never do that!” Then I bit the bullet and found out that indeed I could do that. Not only that, but I liked to do that. And never stopped.

I have no doubt that I can make sweaters and hats and socks. Not intuitively, of course, but if I have a good set of instructions, I don’t think that it’ll be very hard. I just have to learn how to do it, and then, well, I’ll know how to do it.

It’s funny how I used to be intimidated by things that weren’t scarves. Now I’m all for them. Bring on the pattern!

Patterns to design:

~ Dragonfly Lake stole
~ Little House stole

Both of these I’ve had ideas for, and both are sort of half-formed in my mind and need to be let out. Dragonfly Lake is going to have, obviously, a dragonfly motif, with waving water, rushes and lilypads, and trees around the border. Not a hard pattern to design, I’ll bet, but it’ll be the first big project I’ll have designed on my own, and I want it to look good.

The Little House stole is going to have images based on Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House books, which I am a big fan of. Ears of wheat, snowflakes, all sorts of fun motifs to throw in there. This’ll be a bigger and harder thing to plan out than Dragonfly Lake, but I think I’m up to the challenge.

This about wraps up the things that I’m looking to do, knitting-wise, in 2007. You know, and reduce my stash to something more manageable. :p

And now, back to work on that ribbed scarf. I can probably get a few more inches done between calls before my shift ends today and I’m forced to go home and play Final Fantasy XII until my ears bleed. *laughs* (Oh, what a horrible life I lead, huh?)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

