Almost warm.

January 8, 2007 at 3:11 pm | Posted in Dyeing, Random babble, WIPs | 1 Comment

When I looked out the kitchen window this morning, I was disappointed to see that it was raining, and by the looks of it, it was a cold and steady rain.

Five minutes later, I looked out again, and it had changed to a cold steady snow. Well, that was fast! Now the rain and snow have turned to thick cold slush on the ground, and my sneakers being somewhat less waterproff than I’d like them to be, I now am sitting at work with wet socks. :/

There are some things I like about the winter. This is not one of them.

Not to mention the fact that I’m still sick, recovering from what I suspect was an annoying stomach bug. My roommate has a much worse case, though, than I do. But being sick and off work a bit did contribute to the fact that I’m almost done the ribbed scarf. I’ve less than half a ball left, and it probably will be finished within a day or so of decent knitting time. Which will be good, since the weather’s taken a definite winterly turn, and I need something to help keep me warm.

After this, I’ll be making the matching hat. Then probably moving on to finish that black alpaca scarf that I started a little while ago.

I’ve been skimming through Victorian Lace Today, wondering which of the patterns I ought to try and knit first. There are quite a few nice ones in there. I think I’ll likely go with a scarf rather than go all out with a big lace shawl, mostly because I’ve never done borders before, and I’d rather try something new with a smaller project than with a bigger one, just in case I mess up. A smaller project gone wrong has less waste than a huge one, after all.

Still, if I can get the hang of borders well enough, I imagine I’ll try to find enough yarn to try one of the shawls afterwards. I’d love to do one of the sampler stoles, but I don’t think I have enough of the same kind of yarn to attempt such a large project.

Another reason to shy away from the big ones, I suppose. :p

I found that last ball of green cashmere, the same stuff I made Sandra’s scarf from. I’ll dye that up soon and make another for her daughter. I have enough Kool Aid packets, after all. I’ll ask Sandra if she thinks her daughter might like that funny mottled effect, or if she’d like it all one colour.

I also found another ball of merino/angora yarn that I have no real intention of using any time soon, which I’d like to try dyeing in two colours. A nice blue-green mix might be nice, and even if all I do with it is knit up a swatch or something, it will at least have been fun to see the effects of different dyes. Hand-dyeing yarn is actually more fun than I ever thought it would be. I’ll keep that in mind when I open my own fibre farm some time in the future. *laughs*

Yes, this was another photoless post. I promise that the next post will have a picture, most likely of the finished ribbed scarf.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi,
    I found your blog via google by accident and have to admit that youve a really interesting blog :-)
    Just saved your feed in my reader, have a nice day :)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

