I have a confession to make.

January 13, 2007 at 7:37 pm | Posted in Knit From Your Stash 2007, lace, Miss Lambert's shawl, Random babble, WIPs | Leave a comment

I love to shop for groceries. I love knowing that I have the money to go to the grocery store and come home with a load of delicious food. I love knowing that I’ll soon have some choice in my meals, and I won’t be limited to the last can of soup in the cupboard.

I am, in short, a Grocery Geek.

Money matters.

I’ve decided that starting in February, I’m going to put aside $20 from each paycheque for yarn. That’s about $40 a month.

“But wait,” I hear you say. “Aren’t you doing that Knit From Your Stash thing? The one where you can’t buy yarn?”

Yes, I am. However, I’m doing something sneakily crafty. And by sneakily crafty, I mean I’m putting small amount of money aside now so that I can have a massive yarn-buying spree come the end of September, when KFYS finishes. I still go into Cricket Cove quite frequently, to fondle their yarn (and to buy new needles or books to make it look like I’m not being creepy), and there’s still plenty there that I want to knit with.

I expect that if I get as hooked on sock knitting as everyone else does, I’ll probably end up spending a fair chunk that that money on sock yarn. I do plan to knit my first pair of socks this year, after all. Guess we’ll see how that turns out.

Honestly, it’s more likely that I’ll blow all that money on Debbie Bliss Cashmerino, so I can knit a shawl I’ve had my eye on for a while. I was going to save that shawl for my ‘falling off the wagon’, but really, I may as well just get it all once KFYS ends, since I’ll have time to save up the money by then. It’s $10 a ball, and I’ll likely need 8-10 balls . . .

Times like this make me realize just how expensive a hobby knitting really is.

Alpacalicious

The seed stitch alpaca scarf is growing . . . very very slowly. I take a few stitches in between calls at work. It’s a good half a foot long now, at least. That’s a start.

I’m thinking, though, that two skeins of the yarn might not be enough. We’ll see how long it is once a full ball has been used, but I suspect I might need to buy a third skein to make this scarf as long as I’d like it.

Thankfully that doesn’t break any KFYS rules, since we’re allowed to purchase enough yarn to finish our current projects. Phew!

Victorian Lace Today

So after much searching and asking, I finally found out that yes, the Victoria Shawl is meant to be knit in garter stitch, but that the symbol I questioned does correspond to SSK rather than K2tog. (Though apparently when knitting lace in garter, the direction of the decreases isn’t quite as important as knitting lace in stockinette.) However, I found this out after I just bit the bullet and cast on for another project from the book.

(Excuse Nick’s ear. It just desperately wanted to be in the picture.)

Miss Lambert’s shawl pattern. Currently I’ve only done two repeats of the shawl pattern. It’s going so slowly since I get distracted by watching House.

I think it’s going to turn out quite nicely, though. Acrylic/mohair/wool yarn, so it’ll have some warmth in it, though I’d rather have much less of an acrylic content. Still, I have to work with what I have. Beggars can’t be choosers. And if I don’t use the Dolcina yarn for a big project like this, then I won’t use it for anything.

I have no idea if I’m actually going to wear this at any point. I might just knit it for the sake of knitting it, get a picture, and then give it away as a gift or something. It could certainly come in handy at work, though, when they crank the air conditioning way up. It’s always cold in here.

Lucky kitties. They get to lie around the warm apartment all day, napping.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

