Planning ahead.

January 15, 2007 at 5:36 pm | Posted in Reinyarnations | Leave a comment

Either planning ahead or catching up. Take your pick, really.

This is a ball of silk blend yarn that’s been sitting in my stash for months. It’s the same yarn that I used to make the salmon cables scarf, which was my first foray into the fine art of cabling. It was recycled from a rather ugly sweater, and the sweater had no tag, and it was only through the burn test that I identified that there was enough silk in it to override any other fibre reactions. (Though I’m still convinced that it’s a blend, rather than pure silk.)

But I have absolutely no idea what to do with it. Worse still, I still have the front of back of the sweater, which have yet to be frogged.

To sum it up, I have a bunch of yarn in a colour I don’t like, with no idea what to do with it.

Last night, though, brainstorm hit.

(A brainstorm of snow, if the weather outside is any indication!)

Anyway, tangents aside . . .

The easiest way to deal with the colour problem is to dye it, and thankfully I have a bunch of red Kool Aid that’s just waiting to be used to colour something. If I dye it, it’ll also give me a chance to see whether the blended fibre is natural or synthetic, depending on how the dye takes. Personally, I’m hoping it’ll be synthetic, since I think a combination of red with salmon pink could be quite pretty, if done correctly.

But I’m also on a big lace kick, and don’t much fancy using thick yarn right now. (I’ve got enough of that with the alpaca scarf, thankee very much.) Fortunately, the yarn is so loosely plied that it may as well not be called ‘plied’ at all. 9 strands of laceweight go into making this thing thicker than I want to deal with right now.

. . . I say as I stare at my ball winder, and a grin comes to my face.

Time to do some unplying!

It’ll take some time. To avoid a hugely tangled mess and snapped yarn, I’m going to wind half of the plies onto the winder and then half onto an empty cone. Then do this over and over again until I have just a single strand in each ball. It’ll take me a good while, but it’ll be worth it, I think.

I’ll unply first, then dye, to make sure I’m doing it all properly. I have no idea just how much yarn is in the ball I currently have, but once it’s unplied, I’ll have . . . well, 9 times the total length, really. Not including the front and back of the sweater that’s buried in my stash somewhere.

So once all this is said and done, I’ll have a ton of lace-weight silk blend yarn to play around with.

Yes, I do actually have plans for this. I promised Heather a shawl a while ago, and I plan to make good on that. She’d like it in red, since it’s one of her favourite colours. It was just going to be a garter-stitch shawl with no real patterning at first, but I decided that was no fun, and I’ve been searching for a while to find a good pattern to use.

Now that I have Victorian Lace Today, and Folk Shawls, finding that perfect pattern isn’t going to be hard at all.

I’ll probably keep a couple of balls around after the shawl’s finished, to donate to contests and what have you. I read plenty of blogs that run contests and accept prizes donated by readers, and heck, I think it’d be nice to donate something of mine to a worthy cause. Even if that worthy cause is just a Guess What Number I’m Thinking Of contest. :p

I’d run contests of my own, but I think my blog is too new to have gathered enough readers to really make it worth it.

Nick says, “Can you guess what number I’m thinking of? I’ll give you a hint. It has to do with me being cute.”

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

