Hand in hand ten thousand bold.

January 23, 2007 at 6:20 pm | Posted in lace, Miss Lambert's shawl, pattern design, Random babble, WIPs | 2 Comments

Ten points to whoever knows the song that I got my post title from.

I passed the 25% mark on Miss Lambert’s shawl last night while watching The Simpsons on DVD. Nothing like cartoon comedy to make the knitting time fly by.

And ‘fly by’ is relative, of course. I’m not exactly a swift knitter. I’m sure that there are people who could go from 20% to 25% of that shawl in a few hours instead of having to take an entire evening. Still, that’s a good bit of progress for me, and I’m quite proud of myself.

Though picture-wise, it doesn’t really look much bigger than it did yesterday.

On a slightly related note, I felt incredibly old when I realized that what most people would see as random violent humour on The Simpsons was actually social commentary. I feel like part of my carefree childhood has been stripped away by Marge holding a shotgun and shooting mutants. (Which is quite a disturbing image on its own, I suppose.)

I’m now torn on what to make from the to-be-unplied silk blend yarn once it’s all ready. I was going to make Yarn Harlot‘s Snowdrop Shawl, which I think could look very nice in a deep bright red. Then I was browsing through my copy of Folk Shawls and saw that the Kimono Shawl takes laceweight yarn, and that it has an awfully pretty pattern too. I was hoping to do a triangular shawl of some kind, which makes me lean towards Snowdrop, but I’ve heard from a lot of people that Kimono was fun to knit too.

Damned indecisiveness.

I do want to knit the Kimono Shawl some day. I think it’d look good in some fluffy angora/lambswool yarn that I have. Fluffy, but I don’t think it would be so fluffy as to completely obscure the lace pattern, but it would be enough fluff to look almost decadent. (I keep picturing a geisha wrapped up in an angora stole, and the image is slightly incongruous but still very pretty.)

I really ought to get more organized when it comes to my knitting. Go through my yarn and decide right there and then what’s going to be turned into what, so that there’s no more project indecision in my life. I can’t count the amount of times I’ve started a project only to go, “Ooh, this yarn would be much better in another project,” or “Oh, I can think of a much better yarn for this,” or any number of other little indecisive things that hinder my progress.

Yes, this does reflect in other areas of my life.I have to get better with that, too.

In my spare time at work the other day, I started charting out a new scarf pattern. In different colours! Oooh! Yup, I’m taking a break from my lacy loves to do a little colourwork. I can picture it perfectly in my head, have now just about finished the charts, and as soon as I dye up the yarn I want to use for it, I can start knitting.

Well, I’ll also need a circular needle, since it’s one of those scarves that’s knit in the round, then gets the open ends sewn up. I can’t think of a conceivable way to do this scarf otherwise, since it involves switching colours pretty often, which will result in the back of the scarf looking like crap. But if the back of the scarf is the inside of the scarf, hidden from view, then there’s no problem at all.

Plus I get to use up a load of that merino/angora yarn that I have left. And get more experimentation with mixing up different blends of Kool Aid to get the right colours I’m looking for. It’s a win-win situation!

I’m looking forward to knitting this. I hope it turns out as pretty as I’m thinking it will.

All this yarn talk has made Nick want to take a bath.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good luck with the shawl, it is getting bigger, even I can see that! Your grandma is one lucky lady.

  2. The Wool Fondlers event was January 25, 26, and 27, so I was very sad that I didn’t learn of its existence until I was at the Market on the 29th. I’m glad you had a good time, though!


Leave a Reply

Hand in hand ten thousand bold.

January 23, 2007 at 6:20 pm | Posted in lace, Miss Lambert's shawl, pattern design, Random babble, WIPs | 1 Comment

Ten points to whoever knows the song that I got my post title from.

I passed the 25% mark on Miss Lambert’s shawl last night while watching The Simpsons on DVD. Nothing like cartoon comedy to make the knitting time fly by.

And ‘fly by’ is relative, of course. I’m not exactly a swift knitter. I’m sure that there are people who could go from 20% to 25% of that shawl in a few hours instead of having to take an entire evening. Still, that’s a good bit of progress for me, and I’m quite proud of myself.

Though picture-wise, it doesn’t really look much bigger than it did yesterday.

On a slightly related note, I felt incredibly old when I realized that what most people would see as random violent humour on The Simpsons was actually social commentary. I feel like part of my carefree childhood has been stripped away by Marge holding a shotgun and shooting mutants. (Which is quite a disturbing image on its own, I suppose.)

I’m now torn on what to make from the to-be-unplied silk blend yarn once it’s all ready. I was going to make Yarn Harlot‘s Snowdrop Shawl, which I think could look very nice in a deep bright red. Then I was browsing through my copy of Folk Shawls and saw that the Kimono Shawl takes laceweight yarn, and that it has an awfully pretty pattern too. I was hoping to do a triangular shawl of some kind, which makes me lean towards Snowdrop, but I’ve heard from a lot of people that Kimono was fun to knit too.

Damned indecisiveness.

I do want to knit the Kimono Shawl some day. I think it’d look good in some fluffy angora/lambswool yarn that I have. Fluffy, but I don’t think it would be so fluffy as to completely obscure the lace pattern, but it would be enough fluff to look almost decadent. (I keep picturing a geisha wrapped up in an angora stole, and the image is slightly incongruous but still very pretty.)

I really ought to get more organized when it comes to my knitting. Go through my yarn and decide right there and then what’s going to be turned into what, so that there’s no more project indecision in my life. I can’t count the amount of times I’ve started a project only to go, “Ooh, this yarn would be much better in another project,” or “Oh, I can think of a much better yarn for this,” or any number of other little indecisive things that hinder my progress.

Yes, this does reflect in other areas of my life.I have to get better with that, too.

In my spare time at work the other day, I started charting out a new scarf pattern. In different colours! Oooh! Yup, I’m taking a break from my lacy loves to do a little colourwork. I can picture it perfectly in my head, have now just about finished the charts, and as soon as I dye up the yarn I want to use for it, I can start knitting.

Well, I’ll also need a circular needle, since it’s one of those scarves that’s knit in the round, then gets the open ends sewn up. I can’t think of a conceivable way to do this scarf otherwise, since it involves switching colours pretty often, which will result in the back of the scarf looking like crap. But if the back of the scarf is the inside of the scarf, hidden from view, then there’s no problem at all.

Plus I get to use up a load of that merino/angora yarn that I have left. And get more experimentation with mixing up different blends of Kool Aid to get the right colours I’m looking for. It’s a win-win situation!

I’m looking forward to knitting this. I hope it turns out as pretty as I’m thinking it will.

All this yarn talk has made Nick want to take a bath.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m a TERRIBLE photographer. The photos on my blog don’t look *too* bad because I do have a pretty good camera and I tweak everything in Photoshop, but my picture-taking skills are crap. I somehow never get decent lighting, either.

    I wish to pet your scarf and your cats.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

