More celebrity knitblog dreaming!

February 7, 2007 at 11:13 am | Posted in FOs, Random babble, scarves | Leave a comment

The Dream

For some unknown reason, my dream a few nights ago involved Wendy having to spend a few days in Saint John, and I ended up running into her on the street and chatting with her for a while. This is the second dream I’ve had about meeting well-known knitbloggers.

Podcasts

I’ve spent a good part of today listening to Cast On, quite possibly the most addictive podcasts I’ve ever heard. Not that I listen to many podcasts, mind you, but after listening to the first one yesterday while coming home from work, I knew I was hooked. For those of you who read this blog (all, what, two of you?), go give Cast On a try. You won’t be disappointed.

Alpacapalooza

I swear, if there isn’t a fibre festival named this already, I should create one. I mean, how can a great name like that go to waste?

I’m not talking about a fibre festival, though. Nope, I’m referring to the fact that my seed stitch alpaca scarf is done! Finished! Finito!

Unblocked, but then, since it doesn’t have any lace patterns or real textures that need defining, I figure I can forgo the blocking process. I didn’t make the scarf to look pretty. I made it to help prevent myself from freezing to death!

And yes, that is Nick’s foot you see behind the back slats of the kitchen chair.

I’ve decided, though, that I love this yarn so much that after Knit From Your Stash is over, and I’ve saved up enough money, I’m going to buy more, and make myself a sweater from it. It’s only $10 a skein, which isn’t bad, I figure, since I’m getting more used to the prices that good yarn costs. Though I still think that price is ridiculously high, i do have to take into account the fact that the fibre’s not exactly really easy to come by, and it does require labour to process and spin and all that. So $10 a skein isn’t as comparatively high as I once thought it was.

Though I still wish it was less. But I don’t think I’ll get alpaca much cheaper than that until I learn to spin it all myself.

So now what’s on the needles, do you ask? Well, the i-cord rug and Miss Lambert, of course, but I think I’m going to cast on for that damned hat that I need to make, or else I’ll never get it done. I can’t imagine a hat will take too long to knit, even at the sluggish pace I move at.

Obligatory kitty pic

This is Nick, sleeping on top of a cardboard box in the bedroom. The box has yet to be unpacked, so there’s enough inside to keep the top of the box mostly supported when he lies on it, but there’s enough of a gap and he’s heavy enough that the left side has sunken in a bit, making Nick appear smaller than he really is when he lies on it. His back end sinks down just enough to make him appear like he’s lost a pound or two.

For those who are curious, Nick is about 12 pounds. We’ve tried him on weight loss food, he’s fairly active, but nothing seems to make him lose weight. He’s solidly built, and it doesn’t seem to negatively affect him, though.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

