Slip(per) and slide!

February 18, 2007 at 3:34 pm | Posted in Knit From Your Stash 2007, WIPs | 2 Comments

I can’t believe how quickly the first slipper is coming along. I know it’s just plain old stockinette stitch, but I’ve used almost half the ball already, just by knitting for a few hours last night! I’m going to have to dye up another ball of that stuff quickly!

Fortunately, if this is such a quick project, then I can make a bunch of them and give them to people as gifts, or donate extras, or whatever. The fun part of knitting isn’t knitting for me, but just making stuff. If I end up with a bunch of extra stuff, then heck, I may as well give it to someone, right?

I’m quite pleased with how the yarn looks knitted up. With the small patches of alike shades, it looks rather camo-like. See:

So it looks like my roommate (for whom I’m making these felted slippers) is going to get a pair of camo-feet! Just perfect for sneaking around in the grass. :D

Interweave Knits

I picked up the spring issue of Interweave Knits yesterday, and was, well, a little bit disappointed by the new layout. I enjoyed IK’s old layout of having a full-sized picture right next to the pattern, rather than their new layout of having a preview of all the knitwear, and then requiring you to turn to later pages to get the pattern. A preview is nice, sure, but, well, all other knitting magazines have that layout. IK was set apart from them, in my mind, by having their old and much less annoying layout.

But heck, whatever works for them. Just because I don’t enjoy the new layout as much as the old one doesn’t mean I’ll stop buying their magazine.

Unlike some past issues, where there’ve been plenty of nice patterns but not many that I’d actually like to knit for myself or anyone I know (the disadvantage of being decidedly unfeminine and having many decidedly unfeminine friends when most knitting patterns in magazines lean towards the feminine), there were two in here that I want to knit. The Slanted Neck Pullover was one, because of it’s simple and comfortable look. The Bauhaus Fair Isle sweater was another. Heck, both my roommate and I want a Bauhaus sweater! Really, I can’t wait to knit that one. I’m very tempted to use my Get Out of Jail Free card for KFYS’07 to buy the yarn for it and to start knitting it as soon as possible.

But I promised myself I wouldn’t do that until I had no more projects on the needles. And I have plenty right now, so I won’t be knitting Bauhaus for a good few months yet. But oh, that’ll be a nice one to snuggle into when next winter rolls around!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the way that yarn looks knitted. And your stitches are so even!

    Got IK too. Don’t know about the layout because this is my first issue. The patterns are beautiful but too advanced for me right now.

  2. I love that mystery Kool-Aid green!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

