Happy Dye Day!

March 5, 2007 at 9:27 pm | Posted in Dyeing | 2 Comments

If you can’t tell that I love dyeing yarn, then you just haven’t been reading this blog enough. :p

I thought I had lost the bag of wool that I’d set aside for dye experiments. I finally found it, though, and figured this was as good a time as any to dye up the last skein I’d need to finish my roommate‘s slippers.

So dye I did.

I also decided to dye up another skein of yarn, in a bright red-orange, but prepared it by winding into a ball on my ball winder and letting it soak in water longer than I normally do. I’m hoping, if all goes well, that the centre of the ball will have little dye, but still some, making the yarn fade from dark to light colouring.

Though looking at it, I’m thinking the dye saturated all the way through. No way to tell, though, until it’s dried and I can unwind the skein and see. (All in order to wind it up again. :p)

No idea what I’m going to do with this yarn. Maybe keep it around for eventual future projects, maybe trade it with someone for something better. Who knows?

I’d have dyed up more yarn, but I’m out of Kool-Aid, and now have nothing else to dye with. Boo. Need to pick some more up when I next get paid, so I can have another dyeing day next week. Plus I need to get a lot of green and/or blue dye for the angora yarn that I’m giving to charity. A friend on LiveJournal is knitting some shawls to be auctioned off at a local Ren Faire. The proceeds will go to a young man whose mother, if I remember correctly, recently died of liver failure, and his father died some time ago as well. Blue and green were this woman’s favourite colours. I have a bunch of angora blend yarn that I’m looking forward to dyeing, and this seemed like both a good excuse, and a good way to give a little to people who need it. If I can wrap someone in warm fibre and perhaps ease the burdens of someone who’s gone through more grief than people should have to bear, then I’ll do it.

Nick’s a smug little bugger who would rather claim my dresser than stay in the kitchen when it smells so very fruity from the dyeing I do.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oooh, pretty. Isn’t Kool-Aid amazing? Really love that orange.

    Hope you don’t mind, I tagged you for ,url=http://redcrochet.wordpress.com/2007/03/07/six-weird-things/>Six Weird Things.

  2. […] the last batch of wool I dyed? Remember how I dyed one that was wound into a ball to see if I could get it to be paler in the […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

