Miss Lambert is finished!

March 8, 2007 at 1:18 pm | Posted in lace, Miss Lambert's shawl, Random babble | 3 Comments

The body of it, anyway. I finished the last repeat last night. Today, I start knitting the edging. I looked in the back of Victorian Lace Today to see exactly how single and double joins are done, which are what I’ll need to do to finish this, and they’re not as hard as I thought they would be. In fact, they’re incredibly simple! I’ll be starting them today, and hopefully they won’t take as long to knit up as the shawl itself did. I doubt it, since the rows are much smaller, and the hardest thing will be adjusting to a new pattern of stitches.

Six Weird Things

Red Crochet has tagged me to post six weird things about myself. So, in no particular order, here they are!

1) I do not wear bras. I find them incredibly uncomfortable, partially due to the fact that chest-wise, I’m ginormous. I say that without bragging, because I hate that fact about myself. I’d rather be much smaller in the boob department, preferably having none at all! Instead, to hide this fact (because other people apparently just don’t like seeing a person wander around with no bra) I wear baggy comfortable sweaters that do nothing to flatter my shape, but since I don’t give a damn about looking attractive, it all works out well in the end.

2) I do, however, enjoy the feel of wearing corsets. I have one, and am getting better at lacing it up properly, though I sometimes still need help. I don’t wear it as often as I probably should, though, and that’s primarily because the laces dig painfully into my flabby flesh. I need to find a good shirt or something that I can wear under the corset to stop that from being so hard on my skin.

3) I’m a sucker for fantasy role-playing video games, like the Final Fantasies, or the Suikoden series. Actually, I’m a sucker for just about anything fantasy and role-playing, be it video games, books, or just hanging around and pretending to be other people. :p

4) I sleep with my roommate. Like, in the same bed. But we’re not in a sexual relationship, or even a romantic one. It was out of necessity at first, since she spent months sleeping over when I still live with my parents. Then my parents moved out of the apartment and left it to me, and Griffin moved in, taking over what used to be my parents’ bedroom. She was unsure and unfamiliar with a new room, and so I stayed in there with her for a while, to give her a feeling of comfort and something familiar. Then we went broke and had to move in with her parents for a while, and to save space and to not be a bigger burden to them, again we shared the same room and same bed. Now, in our new apartment, my bedroom is incredibly small and may not fit a bed, and I haven’t had the spare money to get one anyway, so I still share hers. I find it to be very comforting and pleasant, knowing that there’s someone whom I trust and who trusts me enough to let me sleep beside them every night.

5) I have an obsession with both vampires, and the Borg from Star Trek. My obsession with the Borg probably stems from a desire to be a solid part of a community, so integrated with others that we all work together in perfect harmony. (An old professor of mine tells me this is because I’m an only child. O_o) As for vampires . . . I’ll be damned if I know why I like them so much, but since the age of 9, I’ve loved them, legends, lore, and all.

6) I have a habit of combining two completely random foods that I like and seeing what they taste like together. Often the taste isn’t isn’t bad, though the people around me at the time seem to think otherwise. Some combinations end up being things I like for a long period of time )peanut butter and bologna sandwiches), and others are just one-offs (Nacho Cheese Doritos dipped in the lemon curd filling of a danish).

The kitties are very content with all weirdness in my life. (I love the way Nick looks like he smiles when he sleeps!)

Now, I tag KnitKitten to post six weird things about herself! (Since she’s one of the very few people who read this blog at the moment. :p)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations on your shawl progress. I consider myself tagged and will respond accordingly tomorrow, although I always forget every single one of the multitudes of weird things about me whenever one of these memes floats around.

  2. Hi Ria — Nice work on your shawl! I like your Six Weird Things; thanks for posting it.

    I’m intrigued by this Suikoden, which I looked up on Wiki. Is it a lot like FF? I’m looking for a new game, because I’m getting bored with FFXII. (Shh, don’t tell my partner, he’ll freak if he finds out I’m thinking about yet another game…) :)

  3. I love your work!

    I have just received VLT & am soooooo confused by single joins/double joins! LOL

    how’d you learn?

    thanks!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

