Blocking Miss Lambert.

March 13, 2007 at 3:02 pm | Posted in FOs, lace, Miss Lambert's shawl, shawls | 3 Comments

No, I’m not getting into some strange new torture hobby. I’ve pinned Miss Lambert’s shawl to the wall, and am now waiting for it to dry.

Hopefully it should only take a day or so.

This was knit on US size 6 needles with black Trio Dolcina yarn, a German yarn that I got in a grab bag at Value Village. 70% acrylic, 15% mohair, 15% wool.

The lace pattern is quite pretty, once it’s all opened up.

I can’t help but see it hanging there and being filled with pride. This was my first attempt at blocking something so very large, and while I’m sure I didn’t get it quite even, I did my best, and perfection will come with practice, after all. I’m sure that my grandmother will like it even if it isn’t quite perfect.

And that concludes my adventures with Miss Lambert. It was very fun, and I can’t wait to knit another large shawl. Lace is far too cool for me to stop doing now.

Well, I do have the feather and fan scarf in the needles, so that should take care of my lace craving at least for a little while.

Nick says that if I take so long on my next big project, especially when it’s a gift for someone else, he’ll blast me with his laser eye beams.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. In response to your comment on Wendy’s blog about circular needles.

    Check out Knit Picks Options interchangeable set, they are awesome! Wendy uses them too.

    http://www.knitpicks.com

    Beth

  2. It is indeed quite pretty. I love the closeup. Also, the post title reminds me of Driving Miss Daisy, not that I’ve ever seen it.

  3. That’s a really nice shawl!
    I’m looking forward to having a proper go at lace-knitting using the KP Options needles Beth mentions above—nice and pointy. :)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

