Another long time between updates.

April 10, 2007 at 12:25 am | Posted in Akatonbo, lace, log cabin blanket, Random babble, scarves, WIPs | Leave a comment

I really need to be more consistent with this thing. Honestly, I don’t know how some of the bigger bloggers can do daily updates! I just don’t have that much knitting to write about!

I’ve decided to abandon the idea of monthly goals. They work only on the assumption that I’ll have nothing better to do with my time than knit, and unfortunately, this simply isn’t true. I read, I play video games, and I still have to work. It’s easier in the long run to post progress reports than goals. So no more of that. (I only did a few anyway. I doubt they’ll be missed.)

Anyway, as far as progress reports go . . .

I’m still chugging away at the log cabin blanket.

I’ve finished the ball of yarn I was using for the blanket squares, and started on a new one.

And I’ve finally got the pattern down and am working on the dragonfly scarf, which from now on will be called the Akatonbo scarf, in honour of its unintentional inspirer.

Since it’s less of a complicated pattern than I thought it would be, I’m going to offer it as a free pattern, once I’ve finished knitting up the whole scarf. Which ought to be in a few weeks or so, since I’m knitting it on and off at work. Normally I avoid doing lace at work, but there’s something about designing a pattern my myself that makes me memorize it quicker, and so I don’t lose my place as easily.

(Akatonbo, by the way, is Japanese for “red dragonfly.”)

I’ve also got the yarn ready to knit an altar cloth for a friend, though I won’t take a picture of just a ball of yarn, even if it is hand-dyed. :p

So yes, my inability to stick to one project at a time has manifested again. If I could just finish that last half of that to-be-felted slipper, it wouldn’t look quite so bad! Two blankets on the go will stay on that WIP list forever, it seems, and the rest . . . Well, I suspect they’ll go quickly enough, since I’m at least enjoying knitting them.

And what’s the point of knitting something if you’re not enjoying it?

Nick clearly thinks that would be a crazy thing to do.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

