Back in action!

July 1, 2007 at 2:59 pm | Posted in lace, MS3, Peacock's Pride, scarves, shawls, WIPs | 3 Comments

There’s going to be some hectic knitting over the next few months here at Ria Knits. No sooner do I get a few projects off the WiP list than something comes up to increase it again.

Many somethings, in fact.

First and foremost, I did cast on the Peacock’s Pride. Twice, actually. The first time I started, I used size US 4 needles, though after I’d knit a few rows, I didn’t like how loose and open the pattern looked. I know it’s lace, but it’s not very holey lace, and in this, it looked so. The stitches were just too loose, the needles too big.

So I slid out the needle, frogged, and cast on again using US size 3s. Still a little bit loose, but in a nice way. The pattern is clear now without being too open. At least, it’s clear to me, when it’s stretched out a little. Not so clear in this picture.

The scarf is easy to knit, despite working two different patterns with different repeat lengths. The two patterns are so simple that it requires only moderate attention, the sort I can give it at work in between calls.

And yes, for those who are of keen enough sight to see, that is a little sheepy point protector on the end of those needles. It came with an issue of Simply Knitting. I buy the UK knitting magazines when I can, even though they’re so expensive over here. Same with a lot of the cross-stitching ones. It’s nice to have that little touch of home to carry around with me.

More hectic knitting!

In addition to Peacock’s Pride, I’m also participating in Mystery Stole 3. No pictures of that for now, though, because I haven’t cast on for it yet. I haven’t had the time. I’ll try to get in a few rows before I go to work today, though. This is definitely one project I’m going to keep at home!.

Also, one of the supervisors at work is pregnant, expecting a girl, and I asked if I could knit some clothes for her. Now, I don’t usually like children that much. I tend to want to keep out of their way, and have someone keep them out of my way. But since I got into knitting, the arrival of babies has brought new opportunities. For knitting quick projects. :p I want to see if I can make another Petal Bib, maybe a pair of booties, and a baby cardigan or sweater or something.

So with those things in mind, I’m going to be doing a lot of knitting over the next few months. Especially when you take into account I’m still going to be knitting little hats, and I still have the other projects on the needles, like the two blankets, and the Akatonbo scarf.

A busy busy bird I’ll be!

Speaking of birds, we have a new friend in the apartment!

Meet Albert, in the only decent picture I could get of him. He’s a rosy bourke, which normally costs about $300 to buy, but we got him for free, along with his cage, food, and bottles.

Why and how? In a nutshell, one of my roommate‘s coworkers is trying to leave her sociopathic abusive husband, and unfortunately, can’t afford to bring all her pets along with her. She had to find homes for them. We got asked on the spot if we’d like to take care of Albert, and we agreed. We have space, we have the money, and we certainly have the love. So Albert came home with us.

He sings such beautiful songs in the mornings. He’s staying in my room right now, with the door closed to prevent the kitties from harassing him, and when I get up in the morning, I can hear him singing clear to the other end of the apartment! He’s not hand-tamed, but we’re going to be working on that over time. Right now he still has a spaz when we open his cage to change his food and water.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I just love the yarn you’re doing Peacock’s Pride in!

  2. albert is adorable! you should knit something in his colours, it’d be so pretty. i want a birdie…

    that yarn is beautiful, by the way.

  3. Yay, birdies! I used to have a myna bird named Uncle Feather. No, I’m not kidding.

    I saw those sheepy point protectors, too. I’m still debating whether I should buy the magazine or not. One bonus is that I can see the sheep clearly through the plastic and I know they’re not deformed, unlike my poor little knitting bag…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

