Ria Knits presents!

August 1, 2007 at 12:32 pm | Posted in Reinyarnations, scarves, WIPs | 7 Comments

Presents in both sense of the word, really. The first sense, as in presenting, because I have a a present as in a gift to offer.

Why? Because in less than two weeks, it will be Ria Knits’s first blogiversary. On August 10, 2006, I made my first post to this blog. Under the name of “Ms. Knitter” at the time, but in essence, this blog has been running for almost a year now. (We’re not counting my brief stint at Knit by Night in this.)

So how am I celebrating? By sharing the wealth! I have, to give away, a skein of recycled cashmere, light worsted weight, in a pale spring green. No idea what the yardage is exactly, but there’s enough of it to make a scarf, so long as you’re not the kind who’ll only wear scarves that are five feet long. :p

How can you win this? Just comment in this entry, and your name will be entered into the draw. Say any random thing you want to. On August 10, 2007, I’ll use a random number generator to pick a winner, notify them by email, and ship them off a nice skein of cashmere yarn.

Can’t get much better than free cashmere!

In other news, I’ve restarted the Path of the Heart scarf. Not much knit on it so far (I’ve spent most of the morning skeining up that cashmere), but even a little progress is something.

The colour’s not very accurate in this picture. it’s actually more of a grey-blue, and reminds me of the colour of the ocean on stormy days. It’s done in Paton’s Classic Merino Wool, which I got lucky and got in a Value Village grab bag a while ago. Nice stuff, very soft. I’m quite fond of Classic Merino, and I suspect that many sweaters will be knit from this stuff by the time my knitting career is over.

Now, I did promise two kitty pictures to make up for the fact that in the last post, there were none. Unfortunately, Jakob didn’t feel much like cooperating today, so I had to sneak a picture of him taking a nap.

And Nick, well, he’s not as grumpy as he looks in his picture. The flash just caused him to squint. I know this because he was following me from room to room, purring his little furry head off and winding around my legs.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Happy Blog Anniversary. My blog 1st year was June 22nd. Oops I missed it.
    Beautiful cahsmere.

  2. I love the color on your Path of the Heart scarf!

  3. Congrats on your blogiversary!

    The scarf is looking great so far – I love the colour too.

  4. Happy Anniversary! Love the scarf – Patons Classic Merino is one of my favorites, too. And what cute kitties. :)

  5. Happy Early Blogiversary! You have such beautiful kitties too!

  6. Happy Upcoming Blogiversary! The yarn is lovely, the kitties are even more lovely, and the scarf is coming along quite nicely, too!

  7. Well, this seems like a good entry for me to mention that if you can get any of your books to me today or tomorrow, I can get them signed for you when I’m in Halifax to see Stephanie Pearl-McPhee on Tuesday. And happy blogiversary!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

