Knitting therapy.

August 4, 2007 at 5:21 pm | Posted in Path of the Heart, scarves, WIPs | 1 Comment

When work seems hellish, when you start dreading getting up in the morning because you know you have to work a shift that night, when you can’t stand the thought of dealing with one more bitchy customer, what do you do?

Knit, of course!

Plenty of people using knitting as a calming therapeutic thing. I’m no different. It’s not conscious, really. It don’t pick up the needles and yarn with the expressed intent of calming down after a bad day. But it’s effective nonetheless, and even after I’ve put down my sticks and string, I’m proud of myself for making progress on a project. Knitting is a very good thing for me, and I’m glad I took the time and struggled to learn it.

The stress of working has certainly been productive for Path of the Heart.

It’s grown considerably since yesterday morning. Almost doubled in length, if my calculations are correct. Shame it can’t continue at this pace, or I’d be done the thing in another day or two.

If you look carefully at the picture you can see the thin white yarn I’m using as a lifeline. Those things are definitely handy! Though ironically, since I started using it I haven’t made a single mistake in the pattern. I’m almost tempted to stop putting it in, but I know the second I do that, I’m going to make a spectacular screw up and have to unravel way more of it than I’d feel comfortable with. So the lifeline will stay.

Here’s a nice closeup of the pattern, too, if anyone’s interested.

It’ll look a bit neater once it’s blocked, I’m sure. The yarn I’m using has pretty good definition, and I really do look forward to using it in more projects.

Stormy weather

It’s been dreary and rainy for the past few days in this area.

See that grey sky, the heavy clouds? And this ins actually better than it has been. I’ve been inside at work for most of the bad weather, but walking home last night, there was a good bit of lightning in the sky. Once it flashes so brightly (or so close) that all I saw was a brilliant white-blue light. No idea where it came from. It wasn’t until I heard the thunder that I realised that I hadn’t been momentarily blinded or something.

I actually like it when it rains. Not when it’s all dreary and blah outside, but I like to hear the sound of rain on the roof or the walls. It makes me feel comfortable, inside and safe with my loved ones.

And it makes sleeping kitties just that much more fun to snuggle.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. When I have a bad day, I turn on my favorite movie(s), and knit. That is my therapy. You are right. I’m glad that I struggled learning how to knit, because it really calms you down.

    I rained really bad here in Lakeville, MN. But we need the cool wind and the rain because my lawn is pathetic (all yellow). Of course rainy day makes a good knitting day.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

