It’s in the pudding.

August 21, 2007 at 6:04 pm | Posted in WIPs | 4 Comments

Socks. I have started a pair. Which relate to the subject line of this entry. No, I haven’t coated my socks-in-progress with pudding. But I’m making these socks as proof that I can, and they say the proof is in the pudding.

I swear, I used to know where that saying came from. Now I have no idea.

The yarn is 100% acrylic that I got from taking apart a thrift store sweater. Now, I know that acrylic doesn’t make a very good sock. It doesn’t breathe well. But I’m not intending to actually wear these socks. I’m making them to prove to myself that I can do it, and to get practice so that I can knit good socks from better yarns. This yarn is just conveniently the right thickness for the needles I have, and, well, the colours are pretty.

It’s still a little bit fiddly to knit with the dpns, but the more I work at it, the easier it becomes. Of course, I’m nowhere near turning the heel, so I expect it’ll get a little harder from then on. Right now, it’s just amusing to knit a tube round and round.

Nick can’t understand why I’d want to knit socks. After all, he doesn’t have to wear them. He already has little white fur-socks on his feet.

Social knitting

I spent a few hours today hanging around with KnitKitten, knitting in public. Which, oddly, was counterproductive, as I screwed up the scarf I was making, had no idea how, and in the end decided I couldn’t tink back that far nor did I want to live with the mistake, so I just ripped the whole thing off the needles again. I started with semi-scarf, and now have no scarf.

But aside from that, knitting in public is fun! A few passerbys gave us amused looks at what we were doing. We laughed ourselves silly at the strangest things, and got a few amusing photographs, which I have no doubt will appear on Kitten’s blog during the next couple of days.

We need to do this sort of thing more often. Knitting in public and being silly is more fun than I ever thought it would be, given that I’m usually rather shy and like to avoid being out in public as much as possible.

Sniffles says, “You can’t have my strawberry! It’s all mine!”

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. You do realize, don’t you, that this is now the Pudding Proof Sock? I like your sock. It is the same colour as the ’70s! Or at least it is in that picture. Additionally, I approve of cats-with-fur-socks and rats-with-strawberries. Oh, and Google is my friend.

  2. My first socks was made from Lion Brand Wool Ease. Yup. My first sock pattern was from Ann Budd The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns.

    Once I made my 1st socks, I was hooked. I made socks for about a pair per 2 weeks. Now I’m having trouble to get back to sock knitting. I’m into sweaters lately.

    Your socks look great. The color sort of reminds me of Spring.

    KIP is actually fun, because we can hang out and socialize with other knitters, and be in our little world.

    Btw, how heavy is your cat?

  3. My dog doesn’t understand sweaters either, she is a naturalist, after all.

    Acrylic socks. That has sweaty written all over it.

  4. Hi Ria,

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. I love the colour of your socks. My first socks were made from acrylic yarn, for the very reasons you said. Turning the heel is not hard , just a lot more fiddly. Nick is so cute. His colouring is the same my (long deceased) cat, Rico.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

