Rediscovering the stash.

September 9, 2007 at 7:34 pm | Posted in Reinyarnations, stash, thrift | 4 Comments

I was digging around in my stash bin today (or rather, one of the many cardboard boxes near my primary stash bin), and I came across old sweaters I’d bought with the intention of unravelling them for yarn. Some I remembered buying, but others were nice rediscoveries that I’d completely forgotten about. I had been wondering, lately, how I’m going to complete all the projects I want to do when I have so little yarn lying around.

Turns out I have way more than I originally thought! (Warning, this post will be picture-heavy!)

A medium red sweater, 70% lambswool, 20% angora, and 10% nylon, that I think I designated as the preincarnation of a Wool Peddler’s Shawl from Folk Shawls. I also think I have another one like this in the living room somewhere, but don’t hold me to that.

A beige alpaca sweater that I started to take apart a while ago, but stopped because the stuff is so dang sticky that I quickly lost patience with it. It’s soft as anything, though, and I want to get back to unravelling it. It didn’t speak to me immediately, but I get the feeling this thing is also destined to become a shawl of some kind.

A granite-coloured chenille sweater which I’m sure is destined to become many thick floofy scarves for charity. I like the feel of chenille, even if it is a bitch to unravel.

A sweater which, according to the label, has the following fibre content: 60% lambswool, 20% nylon, 20% dehair. Now, I have yet to figure out what dehair is. I can not imagine how a yarn can contain 20% lack-of-hair. Either way, the stuff is soft, and has these neat dark flecks running through it. I’m not sure what it’s destined to become, however.

A bright pink sweater which will get overdyed a darker red, and then will become a shawl for HeathWitch‘s wedding. It’s 76% silk, 13% angora, and 11% nylon, and this stuff is simply beautiful! Just seeing it again makes me want to start getting the yarn ready to be knit into something gorgeous and lacy!

This stuff is a nice wool/angora/cashmere/rayon blend, but I worry that it’s too fine and fuzzy to take apart properly. I’ll try it, but if it can’t be done, this sweater will go the way of the next two sweaters.

The bottom one is all cashmere, and the top one is mostly angora, and alas, these sweaters are too fuzzy and/or felted to be taken apart. They’ll be cut up and turned into wonderfully soft pillows or cushions, and possibly some baby booties or toys or something. aste not, want not!

Which brings me to my newest acquisitions. Yes, yes, I know, KFYS’07 hasn’t officially finished until the end of the month, but dangit, when I bought these, I felt the need for new yarns, completely not realizing that I still had a ton of them waiting in my piles and piles of fabric and fibre already!

This is a 60/40 polyester/cotton ribbon yarn that I thought would make some neat scarves, and possibly a couple of other little small projects in mind. I also wanted something easy to take apart, and heck, what can be easier than ribbon yarn?

This is my pride and joy. A 100% cashmere sweater that’s got good clear stitch definition, isn’t fuzzy and stuck together, and was only $5 for an insane amount of laceweight goodness. If it’s not too fine to unravel, this will become the yarn I’ll use for the Secret of the Stole knitalong.

I know, I know, I didn’t even finish the last knitalong I was a part of, but this time will be different, I swear. I’ll tie my roommate up and make her print out the pattern pages this time, unlike MS3!

I also grabbed some needles while at the thrift store.

Can’t have too many needles!

Since this post did contain an insanely large number of pictures, I was going to forego the usual pet picture today, but at the last moment, I decided against it. So here’s Albert, sitting on his perch, wondering why the heck I kept moving all around the room taking pictures of sweaters.

Sorry about the bars of his cage being in the way, but he still freaks out if his cage door is open, making it pretty much impossible for me to get a decent picture of him.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Ooh, that’s a lot of sweaters. I just got back from Value Village. I didn’t buy anything yarn-related, though. I was looking for T-shirts to cut up, but instead I found two T-shirts I’m actually going to wear as-is, and two bedsheets that will make awesome bags or linings for bags someday, assuming I ever have access to a sewing machine, because my handsewing sucks. A Return of the Jedi sheet and a New Kids on the Block sheet, $2 each.

  2. Well. I have lots of needles to the point DH said you can’t be possible buy more needles, right dear? I think needles as tools. Besides tools are fun.

    That is a lot of sweaters. I don’t know if I want to rip off any of my bought-in-store sweater especially the one that’s really fine gauge.

  3. oooh, that bright pink one dyed red is going to end up lovely!

  4. Here’s a little trick I learned for frogging knits made of fuzzy/hairy/sticky yarn: pop it in the freezer for a couple of hours, then frog it. Something about the cold makes the fibres a lot less sticky.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

