There are 10 kinds of people in the world.

October 2, 2007 at 5:45 pm | Posted in scarves, WIPs | 4 Comments

Those who understand binary, and those who don’t.

Seriously, if you get that joke, you’re as big a geek as I am.

Some of you may have noticed the fact that my WiP list has shrunk dramatically. No, I didn’t go on an insane knitting spree over this past week and finished everything in sight. Rather, I came to the conclusion that I can’t call something a Work in Progress if I’m not actually working on it. The Prairie Shawl will be on hold until I get a longer circ. Akatonbo has been frogged and needs a complete design overhaul. I won’t be knitting any more of MS3/Swan Lake until I can print out the pattern so that I can knit somewhere other than directly in front of my conmputer.

Thus, I took them (and the two blankets I’ve been ‘working on’) off the WiP list.

This serves two purposes. One, it looks like I’m lying less. Two, it makes the list smaller so I don’t have as much guilt when I cast on for a new project. The way I will for Secret of the Stole in a few days, for example. (I’ve been unravelling a sweater to get some laceweight cashmere yarn for this project.)

Or the way I did when I went away to the camp again this weekend.

I did this because I wanted something to knit while I was away, had three balls of this stuff to use up, and because garter stitch can be done while I’m half-asleep and drugged up on NyQuil if need be. Which is why it made such a great project when the only light in the cabin was from this:

Definitely couldn’t bring Branching Out or the Pudding Proof socks and work on them in that dim light!

Soon, though, I suspect I’m going to move away from quick and simple projects and move back to more challenging stuff. I’m on another huge lace kick, so thank goodness I have plenty of patterns at hand that can keep me busy. Plus I’m sure you’re all getting tired of me showing off projects here that you could all do while half alseep and drugged up on NyQuil.

Sniffles will do tricks if I do more lace knitting.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Yes I do get the joke (and the title too). I was surrounded by people whom major in computer science.

    I think simple projects are just the ticket to get stress out of challenging projects. I’m about to knit Dr Who scarf (all garter st) for DH.

    I am not tired to see FOs (as you call it simple projects) because each one is unique, and sort of give me ideas to bust my stash.

  2. Hee Hee! I totally get that joke, and I love that I’m not the only one!

  3. Yup, I get the joke. Have you heard this riddle: How many people can read hex if only you and dead people can read hex?

    I’m going to work on something brain-dead this weekend because I am so damn sick of the Road Potato Sock being pretty much my only project, and I want to finish something else quickly.

    Please knit more lace. I wanna see Sniffles do tricks!

  4. hi there, found you through knittykitty who i found through ravelry. just like to point out that you totally stole my desired blog name. :D don’t meet a lot of other Rias, I must say. and yay for casting on new projects where there are already too many on the go! take care, Ria (chamomile on ravelry)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

