FO: Ragg scarf

October 11, 2007 at 5:52 pm | Posted in FOs, scarves, shawls, WIPs | 1 Comment

Two balls of Paton’s Shetland Ragg yarn and a set of US 9 needles later, the scarf is done. Actually, it’s been done for a few days now, but I haven’t had the time to blog about it.

Not that it’s the most exciting thing to blog about, but heck, an FO is an FO, so I ought to post about it.

It seems I’ve been big on stashbusting scarves lately, especially ones made from chunky yarn. They just go so quickly, they’re simple to make, and they reduce my stash by little bits at a time. And it’s not as though the scarves won’t go to some use. Each scarf I knit that I don’t have a use for or that none of my friends lay claim to goes into the charity bag, which will be donated at the beginning of December to any places that wants them. I’m thinking of giving them to a homeless shelter this year, since this winter is supposed to be a nasty one, and, well, I’m lucky and have a place to sleep and warm clothes to wear.

The man I’ve seen sleeping in the doorway of Romero House some nights, covered from head to toe in an old quilt, his belongings tied in grocery bags to a bicycle which is chained to a street sign . . . Yeah, he’s not quite so lucky.

So I’m sure that within ten minutes of posting this, I’ll dig through my stash and find the right yarn and cast on yet another stashbuster scarf to help warm someone this winter.

But since I’m not doing only stashbuster scarves right now, I’ll point out that I did cast on a new shawl the other night.

it doesn’t look like much now, but it’s the start of a Wool Peddler’s Shawl from Folk Shawls. I’m using some recycled yarn from another sweater, 70% wool, 20% angora, 10% nylon. It’s quite nice stuff, and I’ve had that sweater set aside now to be turned into a Wool Peddler’s shawl for so long that I figured it was about time I started it!

Sniffles plots evilness that will be carried out if I don’t do more lace knitting.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. There was an article in the… um, I don’t remember what NB’s alternative weekly is called, but there was an article in there a couple weeks ago about a guy who started a program for donating boxes of necessities like toothpaste and stuff to street kids. They might need handknits when it gets colder. I’ve got that issue around somewhere with the URL in it. And when I was at the bank, I saw that there’s a program there where you can donate handknits… I think the sign said something about it being a program in all of Brunswick Square, which I thought was weird, because I haven’t seen those signs in any other stores.

    On the one hand, I want you to do more lace knitting, but on the other hand, I do want Sniffles to carry out evilness.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

