More 2klace info!

December 6, 2007 at 11:58 pm | Posted in 2klace, lace, scarves, WIPs | 1 Comment

I started a Ravelry group for the challenge, too, if anyone has an account there and wants to talk with others who are celebrating the lacy goodness this coming year.

I’m looking forward to this challenge. Unlike other challenges I’ve given myself, such as finishing some project or another by a certain date, I can’t cast on early and start doing some lace knitting right now. Not because the projects won’t count (so long as the lace project is finished during 2008, then it counts), but because I have two other projects that need to be finished soon that are keeping me busy. The Gryffindor scarf needs to be finished by next Friday, and the altar cloth (it’s lace, based on the pattern for the Kimono Shawl in Folk Shawls) has to be finished by around Christmas. I’d like to finish it sooner, but I doubt it will be. I’ll have to give the recipient an IOU or something when we get together for Yule celebrations. I don’t want to do that, but I doubt that even if I knit nonstop between now and the time we’ll be meeting up, I won’t have it finished. :/

Serves me right for starting so late, I suppose. each year this happens, and each year I swear it won’t happen again. :p Next year, I’m starting my holiday knitting in June!

At least the challenge will give me the perfect excuse to finish up some projects an cast on for others. I need to finish my Branching Out scarf and the Wool Peddler’s shawl. I need to redesign Akatonbo and start knitting that again. I want to use some of the fingering weight mohair yarn that I have to knit a feather and fan scarf, since I think it’d look really good with an occasional repeat in pink instead of completely purple. I have that skein of Sea Silk that’s begging to be made into a lace scarf, though I have yet to settle on a pattern. (I keep flipping back and forth between a couple of them, though right now, the Dayflower lace scarf pattern is appealing to me the most.)

I think, too, that I’ll end up sharing the pattern for Path of the Heart in January. I’d like to knit another one of those, since I really enjoyed knitting it, but perhaps this time in a softer yarn. he wool that I used is nice, but once it’s blocked it turns a bit scratchier and feels harder and thinner, and isn’t quite so nice anymore. Of course, I’m not sure if that was the yarn, or if I overblocked it, or what happened. Maybe next time I’ll try alpaca and see if that makes a difference to the overall softness after blocking.

And to get back in the swing of posting pictures, I’ll leave you not with one of my pets but with the view from my front porch.

Welcome to Canada, eh!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. its funny story…………..


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

