Stormy days ahead.

December 18, 2007 at 4:16 pm | Posted in lace, scarves, Stormy Ocean | Leave a comment

I suppose that holds true for the weather as well as my current knitting. We’ve had quite a lot of snow over the past couple of weeks, and given that it’s only December, I can’t imagine the snow will stop there. On the upside, it means we might actually have a white Christmas for once. *knocks on wood* There’s still a lot of snow on the ground, and the temperature’s nearly always below 0 C now. It’ll be the first white Christmas in at least a decade, I think.

As for my knitting, I’ve decided to put aside the altar cloth for now and start a much more fun scarf.

I call it Stormy Ocean, since the pattern reminds me of the way the sea looks when it’s windy and rough, and the yarn is the perfect colour of the sky when a storm is about to hit. I’m using laceweight lambswool yarn recycled from a sweater, and it’s as fine and as soft as anything I could ask for! Delicate, too, so I’m having to be careful with the stitches, to make sure the yarn doesn’t break. The downside of working with fine yarns, I suppose. But it’s worth it, I think.

I’m having a bad lung day today, so this is just a quick post before I dash off to the doctor’s for more meds. I finally got my insurance fiasco sorted out, and now my $100 medication will only cost me about $10. And after that there’s the Yule celebration and feast. We’re cooking a large ham, and there’ll be vegetables, wine (for everyone but me, since I don’t drink at all if I can help it. I’ll be having ginger ale), and ice cream Yule Log. I’ll get pictures!

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with pictures of Silk-rattie, just after his bath yesterday. He didn’t seem to like the bath very much, but he loved being snuggled against me while wrapped in a towel!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

