I’m dreaming of a white Christmas.

December 22, 2007 at 7:26 pm | Posted in lace, Random babble, scarves, Stormy Ocean, WIPs | 2 Comments

We have so much snow on the ground that it looks as though we may actually get a white Christmas this year!

That is, until one looks at the weather forecast and sees that on Monday, we’re supposed to get rain, with temperatures as high as 9 degrees C. Which, knowing the way luck tends to go, will mean that all the snow and ice will be washed away just in time to have a grey slushy Christmas. And that doesn’t sound quite so appealing in song.

But that doesn’t mean that good cheer can’t be had by all.

I’m sure for some of you, the fact that I’m talking about Christmas stuff may confuse, since those in the know (and now the rest of you, I suppose) know that I’m not Christian, and that I celebrate Yule instead. My roommate‘s parents, however, celebrate Christmas, and have a nice celebration each year, to which I am invited. Presents, good food, and better company than my own parents can provide, what with the fact that they don’t talk to me much. So I go over to their house each year for Christmas, and celebrate Yule on my own time.

Which was done this year, and it was fun! Presents, good food… I mean, what more can a person ask for? :p

These were my presents to friends. A handmade notebook and bookmark each, which I have to admit were very fun to make, if a little frustrating.

The Grinch DVD was my roommate‘s gift, and the DVDs of Are You Afraid of the Dark are mine. What can I say? I’m a big geek who enjoy the nostalgia of watching old kids’ TV shows! :D

And just so this post isn’t entirely devoid of knitting, I’ve made some progress on the Stormy Ocean scarf. Very little progress, mind, since I tend to knit this between calls at work, and since the yarn is also very fine, it’s slow going. No matter. It’s still a fun knit!

And a bit of an update in regards to this blog, I’m going to try to make regular updates to this thing come 2008. And by regular, I mean three times a week: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, so long as I’m able to. No more sporadic posting with very little to say! (Now there’ll be regular posting with very little to say!)

And in closing, as always, I leave you with one of my adorable pets. With a bonus picture of the top of my roommate‘s head!

Merry Christmas to all, a happy Yule, and happy Hanukkah, and all those other holidays which would take too long to list all of here! Regardless, may you all have a wonderful holiday season, and, in case I don’t post between now and December 31st, I wish you all a fabulous new year to come.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Happy Yule to you!

    I never watched “Are You Afraid of the Dark,” but I must admit I would happily watch “You Can’t Do That On Television” again if I could get my hands on it! :)

  2. I got a season of Degrassi Junior High for Christmas, and I just borrowed Sesame Street: Old School: 1969-1974 from the library. Nothing wrong with watching old kids’ TV shows at all! Oh, and I have obtained an extra set of Ravelry buttons, so whenever I get the chance to meet up with you again, you can have ’em. (I did not notice until nine hours after I’d written this comment that I hadn’t pressed the submit button yet.)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

