Wrapped in warmth.

January 4, 2008 at 2:17 pm | Posted in lace, scarves, Stormy Ocean, WIPs | Leave a comment

The way the temperature’s been lately, I’ve been extra glad for the ribbed scarf I knit last year. It’s done wonders for protecting me against the bitter elements, which seem to have become even more bitter over yesterday and today. I saw temperatures as low as -26 Celcius, with the windchill. That’s past the level where most sane people stay indoors, but I have to make the trek to the bus stop to get to work in the morning, and so I, alas, cannot stay home in my comfy bed.

I dream of the day when I can have a job that lets me work from home. There’ll be no more bitterly cold mornings for me then, no sir!

The Stormy Ocean scarf is coming along nicely. It’s about doubled in length since the last time I posted pictures of it, I believe, and given that I barely knit anything on it between then and three days ago, that’s quite an achievement, if I do say so myself. I’m not the world’s fastest knitter, and so I take pride in seeing even a bit of noticeable difference in the pictures I take of my WiPs.

I’m enjoying knitting this. Even though the yarn I’m using is in many small balls that are really only good for about 30 or so rows at a time and so I’m continually joining new balls, it’s a pleasant knit, and it’s fun to watch it grow, little by little. (The reason for so many little balls is because I’m unplying it from slightly thicker yarn, and it gets all tangled and twisty that sometimes it breaks, and so I’m left with many small balls instead of one larger one.)

Jakob looks decidedly smug about being in that box. We set the box out for them when we had our Yule feast, and the cats seem to think that it’s the greatest toy in the world. I swear I could have bought them luxurius catnip-filled mouse toys, and they’d be still playing with that box. Just like toddlers!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

