I feel like chicken tonight.

January 9, 2008 at 1:18 pm | Posted in food, lace, scarves, Stormy Ocean, WIPs | 1 Comment

I’ve noticed that there are a few things that knitbloggers have in common. Not every one of them, mind, but there is a trend. The first is to have a cat. The second is to like to show off delicious food that they took part in making.

And while I can’t say I did much to make this (I helped a little, though), I still feel the need to show off the dinner that my roommate (and I) made last night.

Cantonese chicken, one of my favourite meals. It’s served with rice and peas mixed together, and the sauce on the rice is just divine! This is two meals for each of us, as well as one meal for my supervisor at work, who has been wanting to try my roomie’s cooking for a few months now.

But now I wish to show off something less substantial.

This thing’s been moving along at a good rate, thanks to all the knitting I’ve been doing at night while watching Roomie play video games. I’ve added about another 50% to its length since I last photographed it, which pleases me.

I’ll grant you, I have no idea when I’ll wear this scarf, or even if I’ll wear it. I d love lace, but for scarves, I prefer something very thick and warm instead of light and lacy, and I’m not the kind of person who dresses well enough to use a scarf as an accessory. Perhaps I’ll put it aside and give it away as a gift. I can think of a few people who may appreciate it..

And here’s Nick, hamming it up on the kitchen table where he knows he’s probably not supposed to be. I know it’s inconstant, but we’ve decided to let them up there so long as we’re not eating, since the table is right next to a window where they can look out and watch birds in the nearby tree. They seem to understand this concept well.

Nick was lying perfectly normally there, until he saw me bring out my camera. Then he turned into a big ham, rolling around and showing off his fuzzy belly. For being the least sociable of the two cats here, he sure does like having his picture taken.

And just a little note on the end of this, I’d like to say that I updated my FO page to look less… well, crappy is the only word I can use to describe how it used to be. It looks a lot nicer now, I think.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Thanks for the kind comment about my shawl! I totally understand about not being able to buy the pattern, but if you ever get a chance to, it’s really well-written and easy to read. I love the color of the lace scarf you’re working on now, and that stitch pattern is beautiful. Ah, lace. So pretty. : )

    Also, your cats? Totally adorable.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

