Four day weekend!

January 11, 2008 at 10:31 am | Posted in Gryffindor scarf, My So-Called Scarf, scarves, WIPs | 2 Comments

Sure, it sounds great in theory. But when I’m getting this four day weekend because I’m sick, it sort of loses its appeal.

I apparently have a sinus infection, and have been given what the pharmacist called an aggressive round of antibiotics to get rid of it. The doctor gave me a note excusing me from work today, and yesterday, and Saturday and Sunday are my regular days off…

And I have pills that bring to mind a Dr. Mario game…

And all this is made even worse by the fact that it was beautiful weather outside yesterday. The sky was a clear deep blue, almost cloudless, and — get this! — it was warm. Normally when there’s a clear sky in January, it’s bitterly cold. Yesterday, I stepped outside and wondered if I’d gone into hibernation the night before and slept right through until March, because it felt and sounded and smelled like spring.

I wish all winter days could be this spring-like.

On a happier note, though, being sick does wonders for my knitting productivity. Having little better to do but read or watch movies while knitting makes for progress on projects, which is what I’ve been taking advantage of.

Not coming along as fast as I’d like, but then, I do knit this mostly while at work, and since I haven’t exactly been working much lately thanks to this blasted illness… You see where I’m going with this. But next week I ought to return to work in better health, and able to get on with this project easily.

However…

The Gryffindor scarf is still growing! And while it grows, I’ve been reading more books. The weather’s been warm enough that I can stay in my unheated computer room for hours without worry, which is what I have to do since to read and knit, I need those e-books.

I won’t be able to work at this pace on the Gryffindor scarf much longer, though, since I’m running out of one colour yarn, and don’t know when I’ll be able to get more. Probably not until early February, really, so once I’m out of that colour, this project will have to be put on hold.

Which will just make more time for my other projects, I suppose. So it’s a good thing no matter how one looks at it.

I can’t believe how many projects there are that I want to do over this year. Plenty that are patterns designed by other people, but also a good few that have been designed (or will be designed, in some cases) by myself. The tricky part is deciding what to do next!

Well, that’s only half of it. The rest of decided what I have the yarn for. I’m sure a good many projects will be passed over in favour of others because I just don’t have the right yarn for them yet. But oh, give me time to build up a good stash of sweaters to recycle, and I’m sure I’ll be churching out shawl after shawl, with a scarf here and there thrown in for variety. :p

Perhaps I should knit a shawl for Jakob. Though I’m not sure how much he’d appreciate that…

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. That picture of the pills totally has me singing Dr. Mario music now. :) Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. and your pills nicely complement the gryffindor scarf! feel better soon.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

