A return to normal life.

January 14, 2008 at 10:57 am | Posted in Dead Muppet scarf, Gryffindor scarf, scarves, WIPs | 2 Comments

And so I’m back at work today. I spent the weekend relaxing, mostly, taking pills and drinking tea, and knitting whenever I felt up to it. Which, to be honest, was most of the time. If I wasn’t eating, sleeping, or playing Final Fantasy VI, I was knitting on something.

I can’t think of a better way to spent a weekend, all things considered. I mean, if I have to be sick, at least nothing catastrophic happened to rush me off my feet and prevent me from getting rest.

Though overall, it seems that very little knitting actually got accomplished. I’m reaching the point on all my scarves where the progress doesn’t show up very well in pictures. It’s the same old thing, maybe just a teensy bit longer than before, but by now, you’ve all seem it, and probably feel as though you don’t want to see it again, at least until it’s all finished and I can show off an FO. More than once this weekend I was tempted to cast on something new, just so I could show some obvious progress on something.

But I persevered. And for my efforts, I at least gt as far as I could with the Gryffindor scarf.

And now I can’t knit any more on it until I get more yarn, which, unfortunately for me and the intended recipient of the scarf, won’t be for a while. But I suppose we’ll just have to make do. If I’m very careful, I might be able to get some more at the end of this month, and that isn’t too far away.

And since this was the project I knit on while reading, and since none of my other projects are suitable for taking over that position, I wondered what I’d do now while I read. And then I happened to look over my shoulder and see these…

Yes, I’m well aware that this yarn was made from the pelts of murdered Muppets. I vaguely remember getting this stuff for 50 cents a ball when I worked at a now-out-of-business craft store, when I was a young knitter and under the impression that any yarn is good yarn. It might not even be such bad stuff, with white and blue and purple, if it wasn’t for the beige thrown in.

I assure you all that I’m only knitting this stuff so that I can continue knitting while reading, and so I can get rid of this horrid yarn. Maybe if I’m lucky, I can trick somebody into buying it for $5 at this year’s Christmas craft sale or something…

Nick isn’t quite sure that knitting with this yarn is a good idea…

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Gonzo! Noooooooooo! *faints*

  2. Go, Team Gryffindor!

    I bought FFIV for my Game Boy Advance SP on the weekend. It was $9.95! Is that sweet, or what?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

