Gifty Wednesday!

January 30, 2008 at 1:22 pm | Posted in Random babble, stash | Leave a comment

Thank you, Kitten, for the yarn!

Freedom Spirit 100% wool yarn, 120 metres, which is about 131 yards. It’s a DK-weight yarn, and it’s so very soft and pretty! I love it!

I think I’m going to use it to knit some wristwarmers which will be handy for working in the world’s coldest call centre. (They keep it so chilly in there that I spent last summer wearing a sweater at work. I know I live in Canada, but jeepers, even here I’m not supposed to have to wear a sweater to work!)

And so I can catch up on my lace projects (which have been lamentably few since starting 2klace), I’ll put some lace patterning on the back, so I can count it as a lace project. And so long as I’m careful with the yarn, (I’m thinking of dividing it into two equal balls before I start knitting, so I know how much I can safely use for each hand), I can improvise a pattern.

Not too complicated a pattern, mind, or else I’ll likely to just mess it all up and ruin this yummy yarn somehow.

Alas, I really don’t have much knitting content to update this blog with right now. Stormy Ocean, while I’ve been knitting away at it rather diligently, doesn’t show enough noticeable different to make it worth blogging about. (Though hopefully it should be done by Monday, if I keep on at this rate.) I bought another ball of Paton’s Classic Merino in Old Gold so I could knit more of the Gryffindor scarf, but I haven’t done any yet. And the Wool Peddler’s shawl is so jammed on the needles right now (I don’t have the right size circ, so I’m using straights for as long as I can) that it won’t make for good picture at all. And I refuse to cast on for something new until Stormy Ocean is finished, so I can do better at keeping on top of things.

I think my next project will be Branching Out. In a sense, it’s one I’ve already started, but I’m going to rip it out, unply the yarn, and start over. The thinner yarn will work better for it than thicker, I think, and it’ll make the scarf longer, too. If I leave it the way it is, I’ll just end up with a rather short, albeit pretty, scarf.

So that’s my plan!

Jakob has recently taken to sleeping on my sleeping bag, which I got out the other night because I was so cold that one blanket just wasn’t enough. He seems to like how shiny and smooth it is.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

