FO: Stormy Ocean scarf

February 4, 2008 at 2:54 am | Posted in 2klace, FOs, free pattern, lace, Reinyarnations, scarves, Stormy Ocean | 12 Comments

Posting this on Sunday night instead of Monday morning, but I just can’t wait to show off how beautiful this scarf turned out!

True to what I expected, this blocked out wonderfully and really added some length to it. It’s a wonderfully light scarf that still has a lot of warmth and softness, and I think it’ll be a good thing to wear in early spring, when the weather’s still chilly but not so cold that I need a big thick scarf.

I knit this on 3mm needles, using grey laceweight merino wool yarn recycled from a thrift store sweater. This whole scarf probably took about half a sleeve worth of yarn, considering I unplied the yarn from the sweater and used it as 2-ply instead of 4-ply. (The yarn broke in some places, making it a bit inconsistent to use as 4-ply yarn, but perfect for 2-ply.)

And yes, this is a pattern I’m offering up for free, too.

Yarn – Any laceweight yarn, preferably grey to match the concept of stormy waters, but that’s not required.
Needles – 3 mm needles, which is a UK 11 and doesn’t seem to correspond to any US sizes.

Cast on 72 stitches using your preferred cast-on method. (I used the long-tail cast on and things worked out just fine.)
Knit all the way across as a set-up row, then begin the pattern shown in the chart below.

PATTERN HAS BEEN REMOVED BY DESIGNER

Continue this pattern, ending on row 24, until the scarf is approximately 3 feet long, unblocked. If you need to join on a new ball of yarn at any time, I recommend splicing the yarn rather than having to weave in the ends afterwards, just to make everything simpler. Bind off using your preferred bind-off method. Weave in any ends, then block the scarf using lukewarm water to wet it, and be careful not to agitate the scarf if you’re using a fibre that will felt.

(Error in chart pointed out by Heather K, rows 17 and 21 only have 6 k2togs instead of 7. Chart updated.)

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Great scarf! Love the pattern and the fact that it is recycled! Great inspiration.

  2. Beautiful!

  3. very pretty! i love how much blocking changes lace. i also love watching other people recycle :)

  4. Beautiful pattern! Thanks for making it available!

  5. Just gorgeous!

  6. Squee! So much prettiness!

  7. What a lovely scarf! I just stopped everything and cast it on. One question though – do lines 17 and 21 have an extra k2tog, and should they actually be like line 13? It seems to work better that way for me, unless I am doing something wrong. Anyway, I love it and am really enjoying knitting it. Thank you, Heather

  8. omg! it’s so pretty! i hope i could find time to make one like this after i give birth :)

  9. I am a novice at reading knitting pattern charts but love this pattern, so would you mind clarifying something for me? On the WS do I purl all stitches? or do i p1 then k1 then p1…etc? Thanks in advance…

  10. I THROUGHT IT WAS A GREAT AND IM HARD TO PLEASE ..WHEN IT COMES TO HORROR FILMS

  11. Why was this pattern removed from this site by the designer??? I’d really like to make it!!

  12. I think that everything said was actually very logical.
    But, consider this, what if you composed a catchier title?
    I am not saying your information is not solid, but what if you added something to possibly grab
    people’s attention? I mean FO: Stormy Ocean scarf | Ria Knits!
    is a little boring. You should peek at Yahoo’s home page and note how they write post titles to get people
    to click. You might add a related video or a picture or two to grab people excited about everything’ve got to
    say. In my opinion, it would bring your website a little
    livelier.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

