Secret project!

February 11, 2008 at 10:48 am | Posted in Gryffindor scarf, lace, scarves, shawls, WIPs | 7 Comments

I came up with the pattern on the fly, seeing if it could work the way I saw it in my head, and yes, it indeed looks like it’ll work just fine. So I have here one of the swatches for a new secret project of mine! The only hints I’ll give about it, aside from this swatch, is that it’ll be a triangular shawl. Anything else you’ll just have to wait and see!

I managed to go out the other day and find some good yarn for it, too. It’s still in sweater-form right now, and needs to be unravelled and then dyed, but I think it’s the perfect thickness for what I need. Wool/angora/nylon, one of my favourite blends, it seems, given how often I get it. Or rather, the blend seems to find its way to me, since it seems that the sweaters I find and want just happen to be made from that sort of yarn. I don’t deliberately pick it out; it just sort of happens that way.

But until the yarn is prepped and ready for knitting, and until the full pattern has properly been designed, I’ll content myself with other projects. Like the Gryffindor scarf, which I picked up the last ball of yarn for.

I think if I work diligently at it, this scarf should be done in about a week. It’s about five feet long now, and is probably going to have another four feet added to it by the time it’s finished, something that made my roommate‘s eyes light up when she heard.

And just when I thought the traffic to my blog couldn’t be any higher, I discover this:

The image is small, but the total hits on that huge spike is 873. This is what happens when the Stormy Ocean scarf is linked through Knitting Pattern Central. My happy mountain range of hits, which I thought had gone as high as it was going to go for a good long while, just developed an Everest!

Not that I’m complaining. It fills me with warm fuzzies to know that people may actually like something I’ve created. It’s kind of a novel feeling for me, really, since I’ve never done any real designing before this, and to know that my second attempt at it is coming out this popular, or at least this well-viewed…

I’m not saying it’s a popular pattern, mind. But when I posted the pattern, I expected maybe a couple of people to have an interest, and those few were maybe the ones that read my blog regularly. As it was, 3 people added Stormy Ocean to their Ravelry queues overnight, which was something I hadn’t hoped for even in my wildest dreams! It gave me serious hope and inspiration that I might actually be able to keep doing this, designing patterns, even really simple ones, and that people may like them and want to knit them!

I’m sure you’re all tired of me going on about this by now, though (:p), so I’ll leave you with the usual pet pics and sign off! Got me some knitting to do!

Nick is unimpressed by the fact that I had to shoo him off the Gryffindor scarf three times while trying to get a decent picture of it.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Hi, I found you when my husband sent me your page – he found you through wordpress’ front page and was very impressed that one of your cats looks just like ours, but much much thinner…

  2. Eighth notes! I can’t wait to see the finished shawl!

  3. Ooh, a musical shawl! Can’t wait to see it.

    Nick just can’t believe you don’t see how much he improved the look of that plain old scarf… :)

  4. Hm… a musical shawl. Ahhh that would be lovely.
    Nick is so cute with that face.

  5. Of course people want to knit Stormy Ocean! It’s bee-yoo-ti-ful!

    And the idea of a shawl with musical notes is both beautiful and nerdy, therefore, total win.

    • I love reading these articles because they’re short but inivfmatroe.

  6. Hi Ria–

    I found that diagonal and horizontal patterns look best for normality shawls. Anything that is usually vertical looks horizontal, and not too many people look good in horizontals!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

