Missing time?

February 15, 2008 at 3:08 pm | Posted in lace, shawls, VLT sampler shawl, WIPs | 2 Comments

Must have been the aliens that stole my usual Wednesday post. Or more likely, it was the fact that on Tuesday night I was out at a friend‘s house, spending time with her before she went off to Australia to study for a semester. That was her last night here, as she was catching a plane at shortly after 5 on Wednesday morning, and so we stayed over there until around 3. I shorted myself on sleep, and knitting, and so had nothing to talk about on Wednesday morning, nor any desire to get myself out f bed early to talk about nothing.

Hence the lack of post.

I’ll make it up to you all, though, by showing you the beginning of my new project!

It’s the sampler shawl from Victorian Lace Today, the one without the border. Though the border is very beautiful, I haven’t been in the mood for very complex things lately, and didn’t feel like fiddling around with marking stitches and all that jazz. Hence the simpler version, which is just as pretty.

As for why I’m not still chugging away at the Gryffindor scarf? Well, there’s only so much 1×1 rib I can handle before needing a break. Sometimes I want something I actually do need to look at every once in a while.

The yarn I’m using is from a cone of mystery yarn that I bought from Value Village for abut $3. The burn test identified it as some sort of animal fibre, and it does felt well, so I’m thinking by the feel of it that it must be wool. It’s in a nice grey-green colour, as you can see, and there’s more than enough on the cone to knit this shawl.

I’m knitting this on 2.75 mm needles, so it’s quite a fine yarn, too. Fun to knit with, though, and much easier on my hands than the crochet cotton I’ve been repeatedly trying to find a project worthy of lately.

And no, my secret shawl project hasn’t been started yet. I’ve got most of the yarn unwound from the sweater for it, but I still need to dye it, and chart up some of the rest of the patterns I’ll be using. I’m also going to knit a mini version of the shawl first, to see if the construction I have in mind will actually work. I have a few ideas I want to try out, and I want to see which one will end up best. I suspect I’ll just use some scrap yarn for that, though, since gauge isn’t going to be my big focus. It’s whether the overall shape and construction ideas will work out, so heck, I could knit it on US 13 needles with chunky yarn if I so desired!

But little by little I’m getting things properly prepped for it. I spend half of my work shift a few days ago doodling on a piece of scrap paper, seeing what might look good and jotting down notes about how I may do it. I’m committed to this project. I’m really hoping it turns out even half as decently as I see it in my head!

Jakob’s having too much fun with his rolly thingy to care.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. When I see “VLT shawl,” I automatically think “Video Lottery Terminal shawl.” Hee.

  2. OMG. That’s a huge cone! Never seen that big.
    Jacob is so cute rolling like that.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

