PADD.

February 18, 2008 at 10:57 pm | Posted in feather and fan, lace, scarves, WIPs | 3 Comments

Pattern Attention Defincit Disorder. Suspected to be related to the Startitis condition, people who suffer from this disorder find themselves casting on for new projects compulsively, always having at least two on the go at a time. Unlike Startitis, where the sufferer feels the need to cast on for more projects, sufferers of PADD switch between all the projects they have cast on, knitting on one for a day, then moving to the next one, then the next, maybe back to the first for a while, and so on and so forth, meaning that slow progress occurs for multiple projects at a time. A full list of sufferers has yet to be compiled, though one definite sufferer has been identified.

I cast on for this at work the other day, in the mohair blend yarn that I got a while ago, because I certainly couldn’t take the Sampler Shawl to work with me, and carrying two balls of yarn and a long scarf to work on the Gryffindor Scarf just isn’t feasible at the moment. So I needed something to keep me busy, and this was the best thing I could think of.

Normally I hate mohair, hate how rough it feels on my hands, but I do like the colour of the yarn, and I ought to use it for something. I have two or three balls of it at home, and they need to be used for something, and a feather and fan scarf is a simple but pretty enough project that it’s fun and easy to do at work.

In other news, I got a package in the mail today, from the ever-lovely Cosy, which contained two magazines!

I expect I’ll have a lot of fun going through these and making projects! Not just knitting, but other needlework, too. I’ve been interested in quilting for a while now, and I also enjoy embroidery, so there’s a lot of inspiration in these two magazines. Thank you, Cosy!

Nick was so excited about the package that he plumb wore himself out, and now needs to take a nap.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. That looks so pretty and curly! Which is one of the weirder things I’ve said today.

    I hear that the prognosis for PADD sufferers who craft across multiple disciplines is especially poor, darnitall. But tonight I finished weaving in the ends on a scarf I set aside a billion years ago, so it’s kosher of me to work on my cross stitch for a while.

  2. glad they made it to you ;)
    and i’m glad you got these ones cause you’re so excited about the possibilities.

  3. PADD is a serious problem here, too…I may never finish this stranded-colorwork mitten! :) That mohair is a gorgeous color.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

