I like quotes, just not that one.

February 20, 2008 at 8:24 pm | Posted in feather and fan, lace, scarves, WIPs | Leave a comment

Things to never say to a knitter as they frog a mohair scarf – “Wow, I bet that’s easier to take out than it was to put in.”

*wailing and gnashing of teeth*

It’s his fault that the yarn snapped less than 10 seconds after he spoke, I swear.

Somehow, and please don’t ask me how because I have no idea, I managed to end up with 40 stitches on the needle instead of 36 while knitting the feather-and-fan scarf. I’m not sure how that was possible, except by a really special lack of attention to what I was doing, and I can’t recall, um, not recalling what I was doing. It’s not like feather-and-fan is a complicated pattern, after all, and after doing the Stormy Ocean scarf, you’d think I’d be able to work this sort of thing in my sleep.

Apparently not.

So rows get ripped back, and I start again from a lower place. I didn’t lose too much progress, thankfully, but I’m still not what one would call happy about this development.

I have to be thankful for one thing, though, and that’s that this error didn’t happen with something as large as the VLT sampler shawl. Which I haven’t knit much on these past few days. My days at work have been spent knitting the feather-and-fan scarf, and my evenings at home have been spent working at the Gryffindor scarf. I want to get that finished as soon as possible. Just my luck that the weather’s turned warm lately, and it’s entirely possible that my roommate won’t need a wool scarf for the rest of this winter, but oh, if I know Canada we’ll still get a few cold days before the winter’s officially over. And it’s not as though the scarf won’t be good for many winters to come.

Besides, in the evenings I like to read, and I can’t knit something as fiddly as the sampler shawl while I read. Plain projects are best for that.

[

Jakob really loves that sleeping bag! We find him curled up on it all the time now.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

