FO: Gryffindor scarf 2.

February 29, 2008 at 9:07 am | Posted in FOs, Gryffindor scarf, scarves | 1 Comment

Modelled by the semi-elusive roommate, whom I had to talk into posing for long enough for me to get a few good pictures. Her patience seems to be wearing a little thin here, I think.

Anyway, I made this from Paton’s Classic Merino Wool yarn, in the colours Burgundy and Old Gold, about two balls of each, give or take a little. I used US 6 needles, 20 rows in each colour block, in a 1×1 rib with the first stitch slipped on each row, much like the the first Gryffindor scarf I knit. It’s about 8 feet long, or close enough to it.

The fringe was mildly annoying to put on, mostly because we cut the strands just a little too short, so it was hard to tie them properly. Roommate helped a lot by cutting the strands for the fringe while I was weaving in all the ends, and then helped more by threading the needles when I needed them. Very helpful. This helped the finishing move along pretty quickly, which was motivated in part by the fact that she wanted to wear her new scarf when we went out last night. There’s nothing like a helper with private motivation, I say!

Even though there are a few imperfections with the scarf (slightly different dye lots for the Old Gold yarn, one part where there seemed to be some undyed wool wrapped so tightly around the yarn that I couldn’t remove it, the fact that this was supposed to be a present from last Yule…), she assures me that she doesn’t care, and no one but another picky knitter will likely notice. As much as I wish it could have come out perfectly, I’m happy that she’s happy.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Yay, Gryffindor scarf! Go, team Gryffindor!

    *wanders off somewhere, being crazy*


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

