Can’t stop whipping it out.

March 3, 2008 at 8:48 pm | Posted in lace, scarf with striped border, scarves, WIPs | Leave a comment

New projects, that is. After finishing the second Gryffindor scarf, I had about half a ball of the burgundy yarn left, and no idea what to do with it. I looked through some of the knitting books that I had, but nothing was really popping out at me.

Until, strangely enough, I started looking through Victorian Lace today. I originally just did that with the intention of finding some small pattern I could use to whip up a decent-looking scarf. I flicked through to the section on wide-bordered scarves, and though I wouldn’t have enough yarn in that one half-ball of worsted-weight wool, an idea struck me.

I did have a complete ball of blue-grey wool, the same stuff I made Path of the Heart from. I decided to make the “Scarf with the striped border from Weldon’s, Volume 5, 1890”, doing the borders in red and the body in blue. It looks rather nice this way, I think. The colours, go pretty well together, both of them being darker shades. And the pattern is so simple that I can do it in my sleep!

I’ll knit the body until I run out of blue yarn, however long that may be. And because it’s a worsted yarn, it’s much thicker and wider than the scarf in the book.

It’ll just be my luck that I’ll be able to knit all but one repeat of the last border before running out of yarn, forcing me to buy yet another ball to finish it, and leaving me in the same, “What the heck do I do with the leftovers” predicament.

But heck, it’ll be fun anyway!

The only slightly annoying part of this is the back of the place I picked up the stitches.

It wouldn’t matter if it was all one colour, but with two colours, yeah, it shows. It’s not hugely noticeable, and I doubt many people but me will really care, but I still think I’ll find a way to go over that and hide the join, if I can.

On a different topic, my journal apparently got spammed by someone with even less of a life than myself. Not impressed. I don’t deal particularly well with harassment of any kind, and I have a tendency to get creatively vindictive when things like this happen. So yeah, if anyone has any intention of trolling me, spamming my journal, or just plain old trying to mess with me, don’t. I have no patience for idiocy.

But there will always be snuzzy kitties in the world, and that makes just about everything better. (Excepting, of course, the leak that has started in my bathroom ceiling, but that’s a matter for the landlord and a plumber, not a cat.)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

