Like time, it’s running out.

March 19, 2008 at 6:22 pm | Posted in lace, scarf with striped border, scarves, WIPs | Leave a comment

Yarn, that is. I’ve been knitting away at more of the scarf with a striped border, which is a simple enough pattern that I can easily do it while watching TV or listening to podcasts or something of the sort, and noticed how long it was getting.

Then I noticed just how little of the blue-grey yarn I have left.

(This yarn looks more grey in real life, but somehow it seems to be a colour that can’t be photographed properly, making the blue seem much more pronounced that it really is.)

The scarf may be getting long, but it’s certainly not long enough to stop soon, without it being a much shorter scarf than I want. So I’ll have to go buy another ball of that colour, as well as likely having to get another ball of the burgundy for the second border.

The problem is that I have no idea what dyelot this is, and even if I did, it was likely dyed so long ago that finding a match will be almost impossible. I’ll bring a sample of the yarn to the store and find the closest match I can, but I suspect it’ll end up slightly different shades in the end anyway.

I really need the learn to plan ahead better, don’t I?

Nick investigates Jakob, who investigates the paper towel tube that I threw for him to play with. It’s funny how cats, much like children, will ignore fancy new toys that actually cost good money, and will play with pieces of cardboard and paper instead.

Not that I’m complaining. It’s cute to see them play no matter what they’re playing with!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

