FO: Feather and fan scarf

April 2, 2008 at 6:39 pm | Posted in feather and fan, FOs, lace, scarves | 2 Comments

Not the first time I’ve used this pattern, and I’m sure it won’t be the last!

Knit on 3.75 mm needles, with a mohair blend yarn that was touch on the hands at first, but I gradually got used to it. It was my first time knitting with a yarn that had a very high mohair content. I have to say, I probably won’t do it again. Maybe a little mohair might be okay, but ugh, even if I got used to the feel of it, it’s not an experience I’m rushing to repeat.

The yarn is much closer to the colour in this picture than the first one. You’d think after many bad-colour photos, I’d learn to stop taking FO shots in the living room, where the lighting isn’t greatest, but noooo… Maybe next time. *chuckles*

This was mostly a silly little project to use up a couple of balls of yarn that would likely languish in the stash otherwise, and as such, I don’t have too much to say about it. I do like the pattern, though. I used to think feather-and-fan was rather boring, but then I really gave it a try, and you know, it’s more fun than it looks, and done in the right yarn, it can come out looking really pretty!

Part of me wishes I’d had another ball of this yarn around, so I could have made it one repeat wide while still having the same length. Or heck, if I had another two balls, to make it both a little wider and longer. Ah well. It’s over now, and I’ll know better for the next time I fancy using this pattern.

Meanwhile, despite all the excitement of an FO, Nick still sleeps peacefully, curled up on the couch.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Not the first time I’ve used this pattern…
    O RLY? You don’t say!

    Ze scarf is very pretty indeed. And I feel your pain re: bad-color photos. The lighting in my room is so bad that I took my last WIP photo in the staff room at work! Sadly, my co-workers who are on Ravelry and totally wouldn’t have thought it was weird weren’t in the room at the time.

  2. I think the purple fuzzy yarn is pretty. Nice choice (of pattern) to use up the yarn.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

