One Day late.

April 5, 2008 at 7:42 pm | Posted in crochet | 4 Comments

I was going to post yesterday. Really I was. I had originally planned to post a little about me picking up the last ball of yarn I’d need to finish the Striped Scarf from VLT, and how I managed to find another pair of needles in just the right size I needed for another project, since I currently only have a pair of US 6s and they’re both in use for something else.

Except that when I got to Michael’s, they didn’t have the yarn in the right colour, and they had every needle size except the one I was looking for.

Figures.

Instead, I decided to take the plunge and buy myself a crochet hook, so I could try to get the hang of this crazy thing called crochet. I tried on and off for most of last night (when I wasn’t distracted by playing Harvest Moon DS, of course), and I came to two conclusions:

1) Crocheting is both harder and easier than I originally thought.
2) While I can hold the crochet hook, make stitches, and produce something of a fabric, it actually doesn’t resemble proper crochet, and I have no idea how the hell I was going wrong!

Maybe I’m a genius and have created a new fibre art. More likely is that I just misread the instructions somehow. But you know, even when I went back over then and double-checked to make sure of what I was supposed to do, I still couldn’t get it coming out right.

I’ll keep trying, of course, and someday I’ll either master crochet or come up with a name for this new craft I’ve mistakenly designed, and all will be well.

Either way, I win.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. “2) While I can hold the crochet hook, make stitches, and produce something of a fabric, it actually doesn’t resemble proper crochet, and I have no idea how the hell I was going wrong!”

    When you’re making a stitch, you’re poking the crochet hook through two loops, right? A lot of people (including me) start out only using the front loop, which isn’t really wrong, but doesn’t create the same fabric that you’d expect.

    You can probably get Stitch and Bitch: The Happy Hooker from your local library, Debbie Stoller has a great tutorial.

  2. Oops, I meant under two loops, not through.

  3. I’ll recommend SnB: the Happy Hooker, too – great book.

    Good luck with the crochet…it’s a lot of fun once you get the hang of it!

  4. I recently just started some crochet projects. It’s a bit weird to hold the hook. As Jules says, once you get the hang of it. It’s quite fun really.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

