*insert curses here*

April 21, 2008 at 4:40 pm | Posted in inanna cape, lace, shawls | Leave a comment

The Inanna cape seems to be fighting me every step of the way. Somehow, as I knit, I ended up short a stitch in one row. Okay, no problem, the pattern still lined up as it was supposed to (or so I thought), so I just did a quick increase at the very end of the row, thinking it was just a minor blunder.

The same thing happened on the next patterned row, and for the life of me I couldn’t figure out where I’d made the mistake.

One the third row I knit that day, I somehow came up 4 stitches short at the end. By that point, I just frogged the whole damn thing and decided to start again.

I’ve been extra careful this time. I’m counting the stitches at the end of each row, making sure I’ve done exactly what I’m supposed to. So of course, the one time I don’t do that, I end up two stitches short on the row after it, and I realize that I forgot to add two yo’s on the patterned row before it. Sigh. Tink back. Redo.

I’m keeping at it. I’m pretty much back to the place I was when I had to rip everything out, so only a few days of knitting time have been lost, really. Working on this shawl during the first two hours of my shift at work, when it’s so early that there are barely any calls, has helped move this project along very quickly.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I don’t run into anymore errors. I’m not sure my fraying nerves can take it!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

