On the road again.

May 7, 2008 at 11:43 am | Posted in Random babble | 3 Comments

Over the past week or so, I’ve been talking to someone who’s become a very good friend friend, and who’s been giving me lots of advice. Among other things, we’ve been talking about writing, and going pro. Nonfiction sells better than fiction, typically. But what do I know well enough that I could write a nonfiction books about?

Recycling yarn. Yup, I’ve got my groove really back for the Reinyarnations book, with more ideas for projects for it, too. The feather and fan wrap I’m currently working on will definitely be in there, since it’s a simple lace pattern, and the alternating colour stripes makes it a good project for a recycled Fair Isle sweater. I’ve got a good felting and dyeing project in mind, also, which ought to be fun to make. A few other projects are coming to mind for various things, too. Not too many details right now, since plans may change, and I don’t want to give too much away.

I may be jumping the gun on this one. Maybe the book won’t sell. Maybe I’ll get my hopes up and plan for marketing and hope to make some money off this, and then it’ll flop. But from the people I’ve talked to, both in a recycled yarn community and in various writing communities, think that this book idea will sell, especially with the revival of lots of craft stuff plus environmental issues that people seem to be becoming more aware of. If I do it right, it might actually work out.

Remember how pleased I was when I put out my first knitting pattern? Expect that to be increased tenfold if I end up getting a whole book published!

So now you know. I’ve got bits and pieces of the book written already. Instructions, reviews of different fibre types, tips and trick on how to find good bargains… Other stuff will be easy to write up, too, like how to dye using cheap stuff like Kool Aid. The biggest things missing right now are pictures to help along the written instructions (which won’t be hard to take, but might just get a little time-consuming) and the rest of the projects and patterns that I plan to have in there (which will be even more time-consuming than the other pictures).

And it won’t just involve knitting. I’ll stick some crochet in there as well, just to be inclusive of the craft (though I might require the help of someone who can crochet better than I can), and some felt-cut-and-sew projects, too. Anything and everything I can think of that one can do with a recycled sweater will end up in the book, so it won’t just appeal to knitters, but to other fibre artists, environmentally-conscious crafters, people who just think it’s a neat idea!

I’m not the original sweater-recycler, not by a longshot. I’m not even the person who made it popular, since I learned from someone else who’d already sucked others into it. I’m not aiming to be a pioneer with this. But in writing, I’ve learned, you have to write not only what you know, but what you love. Even if someone else has already done it, there’s a chance that your approach will be different, fresh and new. Think of all the how-to-knit books that are on the shelves. Do you really think they’re all needed? But someone liked knitting enough to want to teach others, to put their own spin on it and include their own words of advice, their own suggestions for projects, and some publishing company saw that it was a saleable idea, and helped them get it on the shelves. Even if this has already been done, there’s a chance I can jump in to that niche too, tell people what I love and why I love it and what I do with it, and end up coming out of it with a few extra dollars in my pocket. I’d love to be able to support myself by doing what I love rather than what I have to do, and this is one way I can help achieve that.

So that’s my plan. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it all works out.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I can see recycling yarn book would work. Now that everybody is talking about being green.

  2. I think it’s a fabulous idea. And although I know of several books about things to do with recycled sweaters, I’m not aware of any that focus largely on unravelling and re-knitting. The books that are out there focus mainly on felt-cut-and-sew projects. A book with the proportions of those types of projects reversed would be very cool indeed.

  3. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Westphalian.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

