Not the Belleisle scarf.

June 5, 2008 at 2:31 pm | Posted in lace, shawls, snow queen, WIPs | 1 Comment

I know, I know, I keep promising pictures of this mysterious Belleisle scarf and then not delivering. “Next time, I promise. Next entry, I swear.” I wonder how many ‘next entries’ there’ll be before I actually show anything. Or maybe it’ll become a running gag, that really there’s no Belleisle scarf and I’m just making stuff up to try to get people coming back.

No, honestly, there is a Belleisle scarf (which I realize now that I’ve been spelling wrong in previous entries), and someday I will show pictures of it. The reason I haven’t done so in this entry is because I’m still on a watching-stuff kick, which means I can’t read subtitles and concentrate on semi-complex lace patterns at the same time, so I’m limiting myself to simple things until I get through watching what I want to watch.

It’s lace, at least. Simple eyelet lace, the very first lace pattern I learnt how to make, and despite it’s simplicity, it can look very pretty when done with the right yarn. This yarn is Lion Brand Wool-Ease sportweight, in the White Frost colourway, which is 70% acrylic, 20% wool, and 10% nylon. I think I bought this stuff when it was on sale very cheap at a local department store; I don’t think I’d have bought it otherwise, since I normally prefer a higher natural fibre content in my yarn. But given that I seem to recall this stuff was less than $1 a ball…

Yeah, I was sure I could knit something with this. And after about a year, it turns out that I was right! I have three balls of this, and knit on US 9 needles in this eyelet lace pattern, will eventually turn into what I’ll call the Snow Queen wrap.

It’s quite warm, and I think it’ll come in very handy at work, where they keep it generally cold enough that I have to wear a sweater there even in the summer. (Sometimes it’s no wonder I get sick as often as I do!) 3 balls is a bit over 1000 yards, and that’ll be more than enough for a good sized wrap. And summer nights around here can still get a little chilly sometimes, but not so cold that wearing a jacket is necessarily warranted, so a nice wrap for maybe walking down to the corner store or something will be nice.

Jakob has his mind on something else. I wonder what. (Maybe the Belleisle scarf, perhaps?)

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. May I mention that the Snow Queen wrap has a very awesome name? Also, are you free next Sunday or Monday? ‘Cause I’m thinking we should get together and take some pictures for New Brunswick’s WWKiP Day photo scavenger hunt.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

